Cranapana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This recipe has been underrated. If you read the recipe carefully and FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS it will turn out perfectly. You do have to allow for oven differences. My oven is pretty close to perfectly calibrated, but even then, it varies by 10-20 degrees during a baking cycle. Buy an oven thermometer and resist the urge to open the door repeatedly (this drops the temp up to 25 degrees each time.) I followed this recipe to the letter. I checked the bread at 50 minutes and promptly gave it the remaining 10 minutes the recipe called for. At that check, I decided to give it 4 more minutes (total bake time 64 minutes). I let it sit for 10 minutes before removing it from the pan and cooling completely on a rack. The resulting bread is delicious, moist, and fruity. I didn't feel that cinnamon or other spices were necessary with three different types of fruit. The fruit is one variable that could affect the outcome. The recipe calls for 1 apple and 1 banana. Go for medium sized fruit here, and use fresh or frozen cranberries, not dried. And for Heaven's sake USE SELF-RISING FLOUR. I was amazed reading other reviews that people used regular flour, then rated the recipe one star because it didn't rise. I will definitely be making this again, and I hope that others won't be afraid to try it due to a few negative reviews. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
My family loved it, this is very good. I added about half a cup of chocolate chips to give it more a dessert appeal for the kids - turned out great! Very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
"moist, flavorful quick bread" is a perfect description for this recipe. I reduced the amount of sugar in 1/2, to make it more "bread" like, and still came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
My husbands favorite bread was banana bread up until we had this. He said it is his new favorite. We bake them in Pampered Chef's mini loaf stone and add a few Baker's Choco Chunks to the batter. I also grease and sugar the pan. It is definately a SWEET bread, so don't think of it as a breakfast bread or even a healthy bread. It just tastes so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm so glad someone pointed out this calls for self-rising flour. I always overlook things like that. I thought this turned out great. I substituted a pear for the apple and really liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Changed cranberries to cherries, reduced sugar by a bit, added two shakes of cinnamon, one shake of nutmeg and one of cloves. Oh - used granny smith apple to keep nice and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was SO yummy! I used half whole wheat flour, and added chopped pecans in the mix and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Since several people said they could not get the bread done, I decided to bake them in a muffin tin and they turned out beautifully! I sprayed the pan generously with Baker's Joy and baked them at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. Just start testing at 18 minutes, since all ovens are not alike. I used my mixer to make the primary batter, because stirring just wasn't getting it smooth; I then stirred in the fruits. Filling the pans about 3/4 full will yield 18 muffins. Since that's too many for two people, I placed the remaining ones in a plastic bag in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Took 65 minutes in my oven, but this bread turned out perfectly. RECIPE CALLS FOR SELF-RISING FLOUR- please pay attention before under-rating a recipe. If you don't have self-rising flour, which I never do... use 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/3 tsp salt PER CUP of flour called for. Voila! Instant self-rising flour. Because of the mixed reviews, I made this recipe exactly as written (except using half whole-wheat and half all-purpose, because that's just what I do). So I can tell you for sure, there is nothing wrong with this recipe. At all. The time is fine, the ingredients are right on, the texture of the finished product is good... I even posted a photo as proof. It's a muffin-y kind of bread, like banana bread is. Sweet and tart and great with a schmear of cream cheese. PS - someone suggested adding spices, and although I didn't, I might next time, just for a change. But really, it's fine as it is - a sweet fruity bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made my own self-rising flour, but followed the recipe. My husband and I are huge fans of this bread. The cranberries add such nice color and tartness to this wonderful, moist banana bread. I had a few bad bananas, one slightly bruised apple, and some leftover cranberries in this freezer. I never suspected that I would find a recipe to use all of them up and taste so good, and that's why I love using the ingredient finder on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States