Cranapana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Another great quick bread that uses apples, bananas and cranberries. Not having self-rising flour, I made my own with a recipe from this site and it worked perfectly. Rather than one large loaf of bread I put this in 3-mini loaf pans, two with nuts, one without. Since the pans were smaller, they were done baking in about 40 minutes. My family's favorite way to eat quick breads is toasted. This bread was no exception. They enjoyed it as bread, but the majority of it was toasted. This also froze and thawed nicely. Definitely a bread worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was really easy to make. I left my apples in huge chunks added vanilla and left out the oil. Thought I had cranberries in the freezer but didn't so those got left out too. I will for sure add them the next time I make this. will also try cooking for 5o mins. instead of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I used all purpose flour, 1tsp salt & 3 3/4 tsp baking powder. Another change was to use about 1 1/2 cups of cranberries and to cover them with the cup of sugar and let sit for about 15 min. Then I cut up one banana (used 2 total) and tossed it in with the cranberries as well as 1 cup of walnuts (didn't use the apple). Ended up making 6 large muffins and 1 mini loaf. Came out .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This bread is fantastic and deserves more than five stars. It rose beautifully and tastes delicious. You MUST USE SELF-RISING FLOUR! It's not merely a suggestion. I only had all-purpose flour so I measured it out and added 3 TBS baking powder and 3/4 tsp salt to make my own self-rising flour. The batter is thick and there is a lot of fruit, but if you mix in the banana first, it loosens up the batter a bit and makes it easier to mix in the apples and cranberries. I added the zest of one lime to brighten up the flavor and some ground flax seed for nutrition. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe is great. The fruit to dough ratio is frankly alarming---it's actually hard to mix in all those fruit pieces, and the final product has two kinds in every bite! I used half a cup of mandarin oranges and only half the apple, and added some extra cranberries and a tsp of cinnamon. I also used only half the sugar, and needed to add just slightly more liquid than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used blueberry flavored dried cranberries, a bit less sugar and oil. Really nice blend of flavor with a bright note not normally found in banana breads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Delicious and uses items on hand (especially the ripe bananas in the freezer). Used recipe from this site to make self rising flour (very easy). A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Perfect sweet, tart snack--scrumptious and easy! Used 1/4 cup of butter, grated Granny apple, extra 1/2 cup cranberries. Baked it in a bundt pan and baked at 325* for 60 mins. Next time, I will incorporate pineapples...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Meh. I loved the name, so I just had to make it. The texture is nice and moist. No problem with its rising, and no problem baking it through in 60 minutes. Not dense at all, relatively light/airy for a quick bread, presumably because of the high proportion of baking powder in self rising flour. We liked the burst of tart cranberries in it, as well as the hint of banana flavor. The apples are lost in the flavor, but they contribute moisture, and that's about the extent of their role. In fact, the overall taste is rather bland and unexciting in its totality. It's not very sweet when you consider that those cranberries are pretty darned tart. 3-1/2 stars would be more appropriate, as 3 is too low and 4 is too high. There are so many other quick bread recipes on this site that are knock-outs that it makes no sense to go with one that only offers a mediocre taste that goes nowhere. Not bad, but certainly unremarkable, and for us, just not worth the calories. For this reason, after a slice to sample the finished product, sadly, the rest was trash can fodder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This bread turned out perfect, a firm dense packed with flavor treat. I did have to cook it an extra 10 minutes but that could have been my stove. Don't understand all the negative reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States