Cranana Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Good recipe - first cranberry jam recipe I've found. Very different, and it tastes great. I made it as written, though I might not put quite as much sugar in next time so you could taste some of the bite of the cranberry. Very sweet, not tart at all. I could definitely taste the banana more than anything else, so I would also recommend using overly ripe bananas to add a sweeter, less banana-y taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I cut the sugar in half per some of the comments above and this was just fantastic. It didn't set as firm as a result, but this will just take pancakes and waffles to the next level! Next time I am going to also try and cut the banana back a bit and add more cranberries... just curious what that will do for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I make lots of different fruit jams, this is a nice addition as it uses different fruit. We like the fruit taste without the pectin. Skip the water. General rule is one cup sugar to one cup fruit, adjust based on if fruit is sweat or tart. Chop up the cranberries before you measure them, this gives a better measurement and you don't have whole cerrberryy skins.. I had 3 cups of berries so used 4 cups of sugar, figured the bananas did not need much sugar. Cook the cranberries with just the sugar ( it will liook dry but as soon it starts heating there will be plenty of juice). Add a pat of butter and turn the heat down to prevent foam. Cook until translucent an thichened them add the bananas for the last minute. No pectin required. If you boil your jars and lid, you can put in the hot jam, add the lid and it will seal. Being doing that for 50 years and the jam wiil keep for over a year.... If you don't eat it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
wowza!! This is definately a keeper!!! Easy to make.. so very tasty. I threw in some shredded coconut. Will be a yearly recipie for us. Thanks so much for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I had bought a lot of cranberries when they were on sale and didn't know what to do with them. I love bananas so I tried this recipe. Unbelievable!! So very, very good! The only thing different I did was use my immersion blender on it to make it smoother rather than chunky! Will so make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This jam is amazing. I tried it out because of all the great reviews and I'm so glad I did. I made a bunch of this and gave it away as gifts. Everyone raved about it! Next time I will make more for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Quick and easy, best of all super tasty! I cut the sugar to 3 cups per other reviewers "too sweet" comments, and used a box of pectin instead of liquid. Loved the recipe, and I'm stocking up on cranberries so I can have this stocked until next cranberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Won a blue ribbon at the fair! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomeroy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Well, I thought this was not very good at all. The texture was ultimately weird and inconsistent, sometimes grainy like cranberry sauce and sometimes jammy. I also thought the cranberry/banana flavors clashed instead of mixing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great flavor!! I modified the cooking times buy following another jam recipe I use quite often...boil the cranberries as directed on this recipe then add the other ingredients aside from the pectin and lemon juice and bring to a full boil for 3 minutes. remove from heat and let cool for 5 minutes. add pectin and lemon juice and stir until well mixed. Let cool for another 2 minutes then stir for 1. process as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States