Cran-Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
We didn't care for this recipe, probably wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Finally a recipe for broccoli salad without mayo! I used clementine zest, some of the juice, no maple syrup, added a little brown sugar in addition to the fresh orange juice. I did not have a coleslaw mix, so I used grated carrots, broccoli, a little chopped onion, and a little amount of celery for crunch. I also substituted cashews (what I had on hand), and topped with hemp seeds for added flavor and healthiness. Even my kids liked it, This was awesome! It also kept in the fridge fresh for a day before it started becoming a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This slaw was very good and very well received by everyone at Christmas dinner. I had read the previous reviews and made the recommended tweaks. First, I made this slaw the day before and that really brings out the flavor. The broccoli slaw remained crisp and did not get soggy. It also made it so easy for Christmas dinner because that was one less dish that had to be cooked or prepped. Secondly, I used white balsamic vinegar so it would not turn brown. I reduced the oil from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup because other reviewers had said it was too oily. I used olive oil instead of canola oil because i thought it would taste better in this dish. I increased the maple syrup (use the real stuff only) from 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon to increase the sweetness that other reviewers said it lacked. Also I used honey roasted pecans and almonds which also added a little sweetness as well as crunch. With the tweaks, it tasted great. Making it a day ahead really made it very easy as well. I recommend giving this recipe a try. Next time I might add a little crumbled blue cheese or feta. I think either of those would taste great with these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I made this as a side dish for guests & they LOVED it! I substituted 1 Tbsp. lemon juice for the lemon zest, used 1/3 cup canola oil, &, just before serving, added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans. The 2nd time I made this, I used white balsamic vinegar so that the salad didn't turn brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Very good, but I took another reviewer's suggestion; I used lower fat mayo in place of the oil. I used chives instead of green onion, because I had it on hand. By mistake I used 1 tblspoon of maple syrup, so mine may have been a bit sweeter. Cranberries really add to flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I found this looking for a vegan broccoli salad. It has become my whole families favorite! I double the dressing. I use olive oil, pomegranate seeds when in season, & I chop my own broccoli. It is nice to have a non-mayo broccoli salad that my vegan son in law can eat that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was excellent! I did make one change that I think made a big difference and that was to use white balsamic vinegar, which has a lighter flavor and also doesn't change the color of the veggies so much. I also used less oil - maybe a scant 1/3 cup of grapeseed oil - and I toasted the pecans. I thought the flavors in the dressing complimented eachother superbly! I use lemon, dijon and balsamic together a lot in dressings, and the maple syrup gave it a different richness. I use Trader Joe's Dijon Mustard - my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
The lemon zest is completely out-of-place in this recipe. It was a little heavy on the mustard for me personally, but I don't like mustard. I also probably used less oil. Toast the pecans first to bring out their flavor, and add more maple syrup. The maple-balsamic combination was a good idea, but by the time I got done adjusting the ingredients to my taste, the proportions were very different from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I try not to change recipes much so as to try what the poster shared but for this, I did cut down on the oil to 1/4 cup. Just couldn't justify that many fat calories :) Was very tasty. I used unsweetened fresh cranberries (didn't have dried ones) and we loved the tart overall flavor of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaKD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great way to use the part we used to throw out. I added 1/2 cup salted sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States