Cran-Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Yummy and good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRNMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I made this recipe was great!! I was a bit lazy though I used Kraft Light Balsamic Vinegarette dressing. My 4 year old GOBBLED it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This slaw was very good and very well received by everyone at Christmas dinner. I had read the previous reviews and made the recommended tweaks. First, I made this slaw the day before and that really brings out the flavor. The broccoli slaw remained crisp and did not get soggy. It also made it so easy for Christmas dinner because that was one less dish that had to be cooked or prepped. Secondly, I used white balsamic vinegar so it would not turn brown. I reduced the oil from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup because other reviewers had said it was too oily. I used olive oil instead of canola oil because i thought it would taste better in this dish. I increased the maple syrup (use the real stuff only) from 1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon to increase the sweetness that other reviewers said it lacked. Also I used honey roasted pecans and almonds which also added a little sweetness as well as crunch. With the tweaks, it tasted great. Making it a day ahead really made it very easy as well. I recommend giving this recipe a try. Next time I might add a little crumbled blue cheese or feta. I think either of those would taste great with these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I found this looking for a vegan broccoli salad. It has become my whole families favorite! I double the dressing. I use olive oil, pomegranate seeds when in season, & I chop my own broccoli. It is nice to have a non-mayo broccoli salad that my vegan son in law can eat that everyone loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Yummy - with few tweaks. It needed more "sweet" so I doubled the cranberries and added a some raspberry vinegar I had. I also added a little sugar. I'm usually not a sweet. The next day it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Finally a recipe for broccoli salad without mayo! I used clementine zest, some of the juice, no maple syrup, added a little brown sugar in addition to the fresh orange juice. I did not have a coleslaw mix, so I used grated carrots, broccoli, a little chopped onion, and a little amount of celery for crunch. I also substituted cashews (what I had on hand), and topped with hemp seeds for added flavor and healthiness. Even my kids liked it, This was awesome! It also kept in the fridge fresh for a day before it started becoming a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was excellent! I did make one change that I think made a big difference and that was to use white balsamic vinegar, which has a lighter flavor and also doesn't change the color of the veggies so much. I also used less oil - maybe a scant 1/3 cup of grapeseed oil - and I toasted the pecans. I thought the flavors in the dressing complimented eachother superbly! I use lemon, dijon and balsamic together a lot in dressings, and the maple syrup gave it a different richness. I use Trader Joe's Dijon Mustard - my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I made this as a side dish for guests & they LOVED it! I substituted 1 Tbsp. lemon juice for the lemon zest, used 1/3 cup canola oil, &, just before serving, added 1/2 cup of chopped pecans. The 2nd time I made this, I used white balsamic vinegar so that the salad didn't turn brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I absolutely love this salad. It is a great side dish for poultry. And if you are entertaining it's served at room temperature so more room for the oven and stove!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is simply yummy ! thanks for sharing this one !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States