Craig's Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Swap out the steak sauce for Chili Sauce. Even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Really good! I cut down the recipe to just make what we needed for now, and winged it on the amounts (just adding everything to taste) since we don't use cocktail sauce all that often. I didn't have any horseradish so I used some Deli style mustard (one that is spicy and has horseradish in it - Boar's Head). I also added some celery salt to taste and used a healthy squirt of Sriracha for the hot sauce. Tastes great - just enough spice and kick and all the flavors are just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I'm not one of these people who changes absolutely everything and then gives a rating based on my concoction rather than the original recipe. This cocktail sauce is GREAT just as written! Lots of things depend on personal taste and cocktail sauce is one of them so I made a couple of changes to suit MY taste but as I said, it's definitely five stars as written). I couldn't find a 36 oz bottle of ketchup, 32 was as close as I could come so I used that, but didn't make any adjustments to the recipe. After tasting it I decided it needed a little more horseradish for my taste so I added an extra tablespoon. I used A-1 steak sauce and Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce and Louisiana Hot Sauce (15 drops per the recipe, which gives it a pretty good kick along with the extra horseradish I added. Play with the hot sauce until you reach the temperature you like. Thanks, Craig for a great cocktail sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Great stuff. I won't be disappointed by store-bought sauce again since, like others, I won't be buying any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
No more store bought for me. Wanted it to go with shrimp for family party. Great flavor, I did cut the recipe in 1/4 because made as is it makes alot for just dripping your shrimp in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for our yearly progressive party and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. I'd probably add a little more heat my next batch. I did make it 2 days in advance to allow the flavors to meld. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very disappointing. It tasted like ketchup. This recipe might be worth trying again with fresh horseradish and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Delicious! Super easy to make! Perfect topping with raw oysters and crackers. Plenty left over to save :) Many great compliments from guests as well. I will definitely make this my go-to cocktail sauce. Thanks Craig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is sooooo good! I will never buy cocktail sauce again. I was in a pinch with you-peel-ems and no cocktail sauce. Looked this up on All- Recipes and voila! Tastes fresher and better than any bottled sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I did a side by side taste comparison with this and store bought cocktail sauce and they tasted nothing alike. I doubled the amount of horseradish and hot pepper sauce, but it still wasn't quite right. Not sure I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States