Crackle Top Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These didn't puff like the picture but I got raves from my friends. I added 1/2 cup more flour and rolled them in Demerara cane sugar before baking and it gave them a little crunch. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
5 stars for ease of use...oil is quick and handy vs butter at the right temperature to set well. Fast, easy, no-fail recipe with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
not as good as ginger crinkles. stick with that recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These are great cookies! But I did use 1 teaspoon of baking soda instead of 2 teaspoons because I could taste the baking soda. And I added 1 tablespoon of water which seemed to make them softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very good and I don't even like Molasses Cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! My first time making molasses cookies and it was so simple. I followed a few suggestions of other reviewers. I did 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar, I cut the ginger in half, and added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla and salt. Also if you want a chewy cookie only bake 7-8 minutes. So easy and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These are terrific! I took the suggestion to cool on wax paper and they were soft and a little chewy; yum! I strongly recommend using sugar in the raw to roll them in. They are so pretty and the coarse sugar is so good! I did have to use pumpkin spice because I didn't have the ginger. I bet using each spice is just as good. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
too crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
My husband and I don't care for sweets so I seldom bake. But I made these when we had friends visit, and they're amazing and so easy to make. Everyone raves about them, I just made another batch to take to a dinner party tonight. I use brown sugar and whole wheat flour but I'm sure the original version is just as good. I didn't have ginger or cloves so I doubled the amount of cinnamon. I reduced the baking time to 8 minutes in a convection oven. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Make sure the dough is really thick or it will be too sticky to roll - I used about 2 1/4 cups of flour. I also used half brown half white sugar, but next time might use 3/4 if not even all brown (but white for rolling). I baked them 7-8 min, but I also made smaller cookies- the dough balls expand a LOT! About double the amount choc chip cookies expand, so if you want normal size cookies use less than a teaspoon (cutlery-size spoon, not the measurement). The wax paper trick works, thanks for sharing! Cookies are still soft after letting them cool on wax paper instead of cooling racks. Bottom line: definitely a keeper! Edit: a year later, still loving these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States