Crackle Top Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
not as good as ginger crinkles. stick with that recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
These are great cookies! But I did use 1 teaspoon of baking soda instead of 2 teaspoons because I could taste the baking soda. And I added 1 tablespoon of water which seemed to make them softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very good and I don't even like Molasses Cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! My first time making molasses cookies and it was so simple. I followed a few suggestions of other reviewers. I did 3/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar, I cut the ginger in half, and added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla and salt. Also if you want a chewy cookie only bake 7-8 minutes. So easy and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
These are terrific! I took the suggestion to cool on wax paper and they were soft and a little chewy; yum! I strongly recommend using sugar in the raw to roll them in. They are so pretty and the coarse sugar is so good! I did have to use pumpkin spice because I didn't have the ginger. I bet using each spice is just as good. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
too crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
My husband and I don't care for sweets so I seldom bake. But I made these when we had friends visit, and they're amazing and so easy to make. Everyone raves about them, I just made another batch to take to a dinner party tonight. I use brown sugar and whole wheat flour but I'm sure the original version is just as good. I didn't have ginger or cloves so I doubled the amount of cinnamon. I reduced the baking time to 8 minutes in a convection oven. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Make sure the dough is really thick or it will be too sticky to roll - I used about 2 1/4 cups of flour. I also used half brown half white sugar, but next time might use 3/4 if not even all brown (but white for rolling). I baked them 7-8 min, but I also made smaller cookies- the dough balls expand a LOT! About double the amount choc chip cookies expand, so if you want normal size cookies use less than a teaspoon (cutlery-size spoon, not the measurement). The wax paper trick works, thanks for sharing! Cookies are still soft after letting them cool on wax paper instead of cooling racks. Bottom line: definitely a keeper! Edit: a year later, still loving these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Yummaroo!! I think I've made these before but last time I followed other people's advice and doubled the spices. This time I just followed the recipe and ran out of molasses (but was pretty close). These are good as is!! :) 7 minutes of baking time was about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Fabulous!! We found they only needed about 10 minutes to bake. That was the only change. These are going in recipe box and will be made again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmylastname
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States