Crackle Top Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
These were fabulous! And easy, too (no creaming butter and sugar - hooray!) I followed the recipe exactly as written, I just used half a teaspoon of ginger as others suggested. After 12 minutes, they came out perfectly, firm but chewy and the perfect amount of spice. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEVEGGIEONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The perfect molasses cookie! It took me a few tries to get it just the way I like it, but it was well worth it. I used a little (1/4 c) whole wheat flour with the white flour, added a pinch of salt, and used black strap molasses for a stronger flavor. For the sugar on top, I used vanilla sugar. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
these were really good. I didn't have any of the ground cloves to add. I might like the betty crocker recipe a tad better though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is the best recipe for making "special" cookies I have ever used. Friends and family alike agree. I use coconut oil, which makes these babies taste perfect! For vegan cookies, try using 1/4 cup applesauce mixed with a tablespoon of cornstarch and a little water instead of the egg. And instead of sugar on top, which makes these a little too sweet, try hulled hemp seeds. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These were excellent! I doubled the recipe and was so glad I did. The only change I made was I used half white sugar and half brown sugar. Oh, and I did double the cinnamon. I baked them for 12 minutes and they were still chewy three days later! If you like chewy cookies, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I have to disagree with other reviewers as I don't think these cookies are as tasty as other molasses recipes that are shortening/butter/margarine based. These are much dryer. Not going to keep this in the recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These cookie are AWESOME !!! The only thing i changed was i left out the ground cloves and used pumpkin pie spice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Molassses Sugar Cookies. This is what our recipe is named. I've been making this cookie for YEARS...from a recipe that belonged to my grandma. Only diff in mine is I use no cloves, and there is a bit of salt added. Oh...and never never would I add vanilla to this cookie - the molasses and ginger and cinnamon are the stars here. Also the bake time is a bit long here - I never bake for more than 10 minutes, and usually take them out at 9. We like these soft and chewy, so if you do as well, then you won't want to bake them for over 10 minutes. This is an AWESOME cookie and has always been a favorite in my household. EDIT** This recipe identical to the Ginger Crinkles recipe here, except for these have cloves. I would think that both cookies would be deelish - but the cloves would provide a bit of a spicier cookie. You can't go wrong with either one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made it just as stated in the recipe and these cookies are delicious. I'm surprised there's no salt in this recipe. I'll be making these regularly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These were so easy to make and so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States