Cracker Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This is a very different salad from any we've ever tried. I actually tried a small portion of this recipe and a small portion of 'Georgia Cracker Salad' from AR. I preferred this one with the green peppers and cheddar cheese. I added the crackers right be before serving so that the crackers would not get too soggy. It is definitely best when it is eaten the day it is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Add garlic thyme an chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Wow, a tasty, quick to make alternative to Potato and Macaroni salads. I made this exactly as written being careful with the mayonnaise. I chilled it about 90 minutes. The saltines added good flavor and texture. I would say the number of servings mentioned in the recipe are huge and this doesn't overnight well in the fridge. It does seem a recipe that can easily be scaled down in size. I'll be making this often and try adding some celery and as another suggested, some tuna to make a meal out of this. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was surprisingly good! I made less than the recipe calls for, and basically eyeballed everything to my liking. I do not think that this needed any additional salt, and I love salt, but it was just right as is. I do wish that the crackers would stay crispy, but there's nothing that could be done for that unless you add them in at the last second and don't plan to have any leftovers. All in all, I liked this and I'd make it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Total comfort food. Not only do I love it but now my kids ask for it because they've grown to love it, too. I like to use a few big green onions and add a little fresh ground pepper and a little hot sauce. If I don't have any fresh peppers, I won't add it. (Usually when you make cracker salad, you won't have fresh peppers on hand.) This is also good with a few crumbled hard boiled eggs. Great for when you're really broke and this is really all you have around to make something filling and tasty. Best to eat it right when you make it because when it's soggy, it's not as good. You want those crackers crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is my husband's favorite salad. We both love it! I hardly ever add the cheese and it's still great. But, you have to assemble it at the last minute because it will get soggy pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellysc99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Loved it, even the picky husband loved it! Will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Atwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnsdall, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vera, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I thought my husband would think this was weird, but he actually liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Used red onion and instead of bell pepper used a hot pepper from my garden. Satisfying lunch. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Great recipe! Next time I will add some cucumbers diced. In the off season I am going to try grape tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Liscomb, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States