Cracker Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This is more work than it needs to be. Simply dip the chops in seasoned egg mixture, bread with finely crushed cracker crumbs and fry in butter or margarine. They will be crisp on the outside, yet tender and moist on the inside. My mother has been making pork and chicken this way for 40 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
If I hadn't added the two cups of water that the recipe called for after pan frying these, I think that we would have really liked this. There's no way that 2 cups of water is going to disolve/absorb into the chops in 20 minutes. I gave it 30 minutes and the chops went from nice and crisp to soggy...and dry on the inside. If I made these again I think I'd take the chops out of the pan after cooking, make the gravy and then maybe put the chops in the gravy to finish cooking. Or, just cook them through in the beginning and top them with the gravy on the dinner plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Capt N these are my mom's exact pork chops. I loved these things growing up. I was so glad to see them on here...I always deep fry. Not the healthiest, but they always turn out great. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Okay so I didn't have Saltines but I did have Captain Crunch cereal. Unbelievable! I can't believe how the sweetness of the cereal flavors the pork perfectly. Mangia bene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I tried the pan fried version of this recipe. Following the recipe exactly only led to the breading getting all soggy and falling off the chop during cooking. Will I try this recipe again. Never
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Tasted ok but I had to add rub to give it flavor. Next time, I won't drag the chops twice through the crackers. Make sure you get those crackers to CRUMB size in order to cook the chops properly. I, like most others who tried this recipe, did not use 2 cups h2o. Used 1/4 cup with dissolved chicken bullion cube and taste was great. Idea was good, but directions need fine tuning. Thanks for the recipe- I would do it again with the adjustments made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
I would just like to comment and say you are really putting an effort into it.We usually take the pork chops and dip in eggs then cracker crumbs then fry them.Ofcourse we like making gravy also from it.I usually eliminate the salt and use garlic salt.It gives it a better taste.I fixed my cracker pork chops for my mother who was skeptical and some friends and they loved them.They still rave over it but it was simple to make.Also sautee some onions and add to the gravy also does great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
YUM!! This was very good. I did pan fry the pork chops and added garlic salt, season salt, and some chicken buillon powder to the cracker mix. Then when I removed them from skillet I put pepper and garlic salt on them. They were crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JINKIESSCOOBY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
Good recipe. Nice alternative to fried pork chops made with bread crumbs. I didn't bother to make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight, and it was great. I used ritz crackers and added pepper and garlic powder to the crumbs. I had thin-sliced chops, dipped them in egg, cracker mix, back in the egg, and in the cracker mix a second time. Then I pan-fried them and drained them on paper towels. They were a big hit with my kids, even my two year old who refuses to eat any meat other than chicken nuggets! The pork chops were very crisp on the outside, nice and juicy on the inside. I skipped the sauce-making step because it didn't sound too appetizing to me, but will make pork chops this way again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States