Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is really good and pretty easy. I made it for Christmas and it was very popular. I did substitute brown sugar for white, and left out the nuts, but it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Fabulous! I wisked the butter & sugar constantly ~ surprised at how thick & yummy it got so quickly. I lined my cookie sheet with foil sprayed with non-stick spray .. had no trouble getting the candy to lift out. Definitely use saltines ~ my sister made this recipe with graham crackers & it just wasn't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I am giving this four stars because it needs just a bit of tweaking. I have made this recipe several times, ALWAYS with a request for the recipe. Having said that, I do have some changes to make this recipe a definite winner! First, use brown sugar. I have tried it with both types of sugar, and white not only tastes different, but the end product doesn't even LOOK appetizing. I use normal saltines, not anything fancy. Do not overcook your sugar/butter, it WILL burn. 3 minutes is plenty. Do not overcook in the oven...5 minutes is just fine. I have tried different flavored chips (Reese's, milk chocolate, etc) as well, and have learned to stick with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Just sprinkle onto the hot crackers after removing from the oven, and let them sit for a couple of minutes....they will melt enough to spread over entire pan of crackers from corner to corner. Here is a trick of mine that works for an easier, prettier finished product: Once they have cooled slightly in the pan, score slightly with a knife right down the dotted lines of the cracker edges to make squares. Once they are cooled completely, use the scored lines to cut into neat squares! I have never failed with these, even when they weren't as "pretty" as I'd like...they still taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Super yummy! I used graham crackers because that's what I had in the pantry. I'm sure it would be delicious with saltines, too. My friends all loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I don't know what I did wrong! I followed the recommendations of other reviewers who raved about this. I lined a cookie sheet with tin foil and sprayed with non stick spray. I used brown sugar instead of white, I cooked until it was foamy. I melted the choc chips in the microwave. When I peeked at this after 4 minutes, the caramel was bubbling over the sides of the pan and spilling in my oven. The crackers slid around in the overflowing toffee. The end result tasted good but it was definitely crackers with toffee & chocolate on it. Definitely not something that presents lovely enough to give as a gift at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
WOW this is delicious. Be careful when the pan is in the oven- 5 min goes by fast and sugar burns quickly. I sprinkled half the pan w/ chopped walnuts and the other half w/ crushed candy canes. Very festive and yummy! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Wow this didn't last long in our house. I've made it twice now and both times I have had a hard time getting the butter and sugar to combine, but after it comes out of the oven it looks great. Foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
OhMyGoodness! I cannot believe how good these were. I did as suugested & used brown sugar binstead of white, upping the amount to one cup. I used both saltines & townhouse crackers & both were very good. I forgot to add the nuts (had many irons in the fire) but never missed them. I made some w/ milk chocoalte chips that I didn't care for because the milk chocolate didn't seem to melt right. ???? I made some w/ mini semi-sweet chips & those were excellent. I let the mini-chips melt a bit & then spread them on the crackers. These are a new family favorite...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe was GREAT! And even better, it was EASY and very pretty when put in a nice dish. I took it to work and it was all gone in no time! And they couldn't believe that it was just saltine crackers! I'll definitely use this again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This recipe was simply delicious! I've been told that you can also make this with graham crackers. I think that the salt must make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States