Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These were very quick and easy. They taste good (I wouldn't say great....just okay). I don't know how people can say they don't know they are eating saltines, though. It was VERY apparent to me that I was eating a saltine cracker with toffe/chocolate/nuts on it. Not that that is a terrible thing....but trust me, it won't be a secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Good, but I'm not impressed. To me, it tasted just like a crispy brownie with nuts. Nothing at all like I expected it to be. The saltine cracker base is visible (not what I expected either); I was hoping I could fool my co-workers into thinking I had made the entire thing from scratch. Oh well; I probably won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this for my kids and grandkids and they ate it all. Very easy and tastes like english toffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honey Grove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is my weakness. I actually only make 1/4 of the recipe at a time because I cannot stop myself from eating it until it's gone! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I tried this last night because it sounded easy to make and I had all ingredients that I needed in my pantry and fridge. My husband and I thought these were good, but my kids thought they were wonderful. Because my kids loved them, and because they were very simple to make I'm giving this 5 stars. If it was at all difficult I would've given only 4. It is super easy, though, and has an interesting taste, kind of sweet/salty/buttery. (I did make a few changes. I added a bit of vanilla to the sugar, omitted the nuts because some of my kids don't care for nuts, and I used margarine instead of butter because my husband has allergies to milk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
wonderful reminds me of a Skor or heath bar in flavor. And extremely easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was a hit! I had a dessert dish to pass at a recent birthday party and everyone loved this! Everyone I gave the recipe to was shocked to hear saltine crackers were the base for this. Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is really good and pretty easy. I made it for Christmas and it was very popular. I did substitute brown sugar for white, and left out the nuts, but it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Fabulous! I wisked the butter & sugar constantly ~ surprised at how thick & yummy it got so quickly. I lined my cookie sheet with foil sprayed with non-stick spray .. had no trouble getting the candy to lift out. Definitely use saltines ~ my sister made this recipe with graham crackers & it just wasn't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I am giving this four stars because it needs just a bit of tweaking. I have made this recipe several times, ALWAYS with a request for the recipe. Having said that, I do have some changes to make this recipe a definite winner! First, use brown sugar. I have tried it with both types of sugar, and white not only tastes different, but the end product doesn't even LOOK appetizing. I use normal saltines, not anything fancy. Do not overcook your sugar/butter, it WILL burn. 3 minutes is plenty. Do not overcook in the oven...5 minutes is just fine. I have tried different flavored chips (Reese's, milk chocolate, etc) as well, and have learned to stick with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Just sprinkle onto the hot crackers after removing from the oven, and let them sit for a couple of minutes....they will melt enough to spread over entire pan of crackers from corner to corner. Here is a trick of mine that works for an easier, prettier finished product: Once they have cooled slightly in the pan, score slightly with a knife right down the dotted lines of the cracker edges to make squares. Once they are cooled completely, use the scored lines to cut into neat squares! I have never failed with these, even when they weren't as "pretty" as I'd like...they still taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States