Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
These were very quick and easy. They taste good (I wouldn't say great....just okay). I don't know how people can say they don't know they are eating saltines, though. It was VERY apparent to me that I was eating a saltine cracker with toffe/chocolate/nuts on it. Not that that is a terrible thing....but trust me, it won't be a secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
Good, but I'm not impressed. To me, it tasted just like a crispy brownie with nuts. Nothing at all like I expected it to be. The saltine cracker base is visible (not what I expected either); I was hoping I could fool my co-workers into thinking I had made the entire thing from scratch. Oh well; I probably won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I made this for my kids and grandkids and they ate it all. Very easy and tastes like english toffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honey Grove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is my weakness. I actually only make 1/4 of the recipe at a time because I cannot stop myself from eating it until it's gone! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I tried this last night because it sounded easy to make and I had all ingredients that I needed in my pantry and fridge. My husband and I thought these were good, but my kids thought they were wonderful. Because my kids loved them, and because they were very simple to make I'm giving this 5 stars. If it was at all difficult I would've given only 4. It is super easy, though, and has an interesting taste, kind of sweet/salty/buttery. (I did make a few changes. I added a bit of vanilla to the sugar, omitted the nuts because some of my kids don't care for nuts, and I used margarine instead of butter because my husband has allergies to milk.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
wonderful reminds me of a Skor or heath bar in flavor. And extremely easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was a hit! I had a dessert dish to pass at a recent birthday party and everyone loved this! Everyone I gave the recipe to was shocked to hear saltine crackers were the base for this. Easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is really good and pretty easy. I made it for Christmas and it was very popular. I did substitute brown sugar for white, and left out the nuts, but it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Fabulous! I wisked the butter & sugar constantly ~ surprised at how thick & yummy it got so quickly. I lined my cookie sheet with foil sprayed with non-stick spray .. had no trouble getting the candy to lift out. Definitely use saltines ~ my sister made this recipe with graham crackers & it just wasn't the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I am giving this four stars because it needs just a bit of tweaking. I have made this recipe several times, ALWAYS with a request for the recipe. Having said that, I do have some changes to make this recipe a definite winner! First, use brown sugar. I have tried it with both types of sugar, and white not only tastes different, but the end product doesn't even LOOK appetizing. I use normal saltines, not anything fancy. Do not overcook your sugar/butter, it WILL burn. 3 minutes is plenty. Do not overcook in the oven...5 minutes is just fine. I have tried different flavored chips (Reese's, milk chocolate, etc) as well, and have learned to stick with semi-sweet chocolate chips. Just sprinkle onto the hot crackers after removing from the oven, and let them sit for a couple of minutes....they will melt enough to spread over entire pan of crackers from corner to corner. Here is a trick of mine that works for an easier, prettier finished product: Once they have cooled slightly in the pan, score slightly with a knife right down the dotted lines of the cracker edges to make squares. Once they are cooled completely, use the scored lines to cut into neat squares! I have never failed with these, even when they weren't as "pretty" as I'd like...they still taste wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Deep-Fried Candy Bars

See how to make candy bars even yummier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States