Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
As with the rest of you I didn't think this would be so good. I served it for my domino group, and they could not stop eating it. I want to make it for gifts for Christmas it was so good and easy. Thanks for posting it. Oh I used brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
My mom used to make these when i was a kid and i havent had them for years!!! SO DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnathan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I have this as a passover recipe. We call it chocolate covered matzo. everything is the same only using matzo as the "cracker" Definately use brown sugar, and if you like a more molassas taste, go with dark brown sugar instead of light. I generally use the light brown sugar with semi sweet chocolate chips. I get requests all the time for this recipe, yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I have made this using one 12 ounce bag of peanut butter chips and one 12 bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips OR use white chocolate chips and PB chips OR Mint chips and Semi sweet chips, use butterscotch chips, the combos are endless. ALSO, as they melt on the hot crackers start spreading with a spatula, mixing it all together and to the edges THEN sprinkle with whatever....Always a hit with EVERYONE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I didn't have saltine crackers so I used Graham crackers and boy was that yummy. Like toffee. Also for ease in removal from pan, I lined the cooky sheet with foil and it can be lifted out to cool and break into separate sections.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I have been making this for about 30 yrs now..we never knew the name of it originally so we called it " I can't Believe it's already Ready Candy". It is excellent made w/ the white sugar ( tho' many seem to prefer brown who rated this). MY RECIPE of it directs you w/ specific times for EVERYTHING! You LINE a broiler pan w/ foil and arrange your crackers ( my recipe called for unsalted saltines). Melt butter and sugar and boil for " 3 minutes". Pour over saltines and bake at 400 degrees for " 5 minutes" ..Immediately sprinkle the choc chips over this evenly..pop back in oven for 2 min or less. This spreads the chocolate very easily over entire top of candy. . Sprinkle your choice nuts on top. FREEZE.. ( have to FREEZE them solid)..then break into pcs and store in airtight containers. The odd shapes they come out when broken up make them even more interesting. I always make these for Christmas baskets w/ a copy of the recipe attached. EVERYONE loves them. Oh ...and when you take them out of freezer.. lift foil sheet out.. invert and peel candy off foil. Put pan away.. hey i'ts clean !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is a old-time Passover candy recipe - but instead of saltines, you use matzah. Use only brown sugar, put slivered almonds and chopped pecans in the butter/sugar mix - pour over crackers/matzah. Put in an 350 F oven for appx. 7 minutes. Sprinkle semi-sweet chocolate chips over the top. As the chips melt, spread with a knife. BTW, spray the rimmed cookie sheet with no-stick prior to laying out the crackers/matzah. Let cool in the pan (no need to freeze!). Break into small pieces to serve. Delicious!! I rated 3 stars because it uses white sugar instead of brown, the oven temp. and the oven temp. is way too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Wow! My grandmother used to make these for me & I've never been able to locate the recipe! Thank you!!!! Now I can pass this down to my children!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cokemo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great taste! I used other toppings as well. Very easy to make for a nice fast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States