Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
One of the best candies I have ever eaten and easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I am constantly amazed at the reaction I get whenever I make this candy - EVERYONE loves it! It is so fun to see the reactions from people when they realize it is made from regular saltine crackers. It is quick, it is easy, and you will be a rock star. I make it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Awesome! I used Gram Crackers because that is what I had. Used brown sugar instead of white as per other reviews. They were delicious! I could of eaten the whole pan myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
i made this with my little girl and used the last of the almond bark i had melted for dipping pretzels. these were good. i think the almond bark worked as well as chocolate chips do. my husband had managed to resist every kind of candy i made except this one. he kept picking at the little bits that broke off when i broke it into pieces. mine came out a little greasy. since its the first time ive made this im assuming its my error and not the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My sister makes his candy alot, her family really enjoys it. Tastes much like the "Almond Roca" we grew up eating. As one reviewer noted she lined the cookie sheet, which is what I did. Can't imagine cleaning that pan afterwards. Folded the foil just to fit the crackers which kept the sugar mixture right on the crackers, less run off. My crackers were floating in the sugar mixture We liked the milk chocolate chips better than the bittersweet. Again, as one reviewer noted, I had to put the pan back in the oven to melt the chocolate chips, then spread them somewhat evenly over the candy. Much easier and cleaner, for your hand, to break up if you put in freezer for abut 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have made this candy for years and I use light brown sugar. The recipe is called Soda Cracker Candy. I clipped it out of a newspaper some 20 yrs. or more ago and it was put in by an elderly lady who said she did not want the recipe to die with her so she sent it into the newspaper to be printed. Have loved it ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
tastes great, but do not try to do with graham crackers...it just didn't do as well as saltines, even with adding just a little more salt in the sugar mixture. I did the whole boil for 3 minutes (soft boil stage) and I found my chocolate layer was coming away from the crackers - all problems I did not have with the saltines! If anyone has an explanation, please let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
loved this candy but the waxed paper stuck to the candy and I couldn't get if off lots of the pieces...couldn't give away with waxed paper stuck. I am going to try and line pan with foil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was really weird. Had the ingredients on hand and thought it was worth a shot- The kids wouldn't even eat it. Giving it two stars because as far as I could tell, it did come out like it was supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Like many others have commented I use brown sugar. Make sure you use real butter not margarine. I use a jelly roll pan lined with foil. It holds exactly one sleeve of saltines. I sprinkle half with chopped pecans on top of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hulsey Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States