Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Awesome! I used Gram Crackers because that is what I had. Used brown sugar instead of white as per other reviews. They were delicious! I could of eaten the whole pan myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
i made this with my little girl and used the last of the almond bark i had melted for dipping pretzels. these were good. i think the almond bark worked as well as chocolate chips do. my husband had managed to resist every kind of candy i made except this one. he kept picking at the little bits that broke off when i broke it into pieces. mine came out a little greasy. since its the first time ive made this im assuming its my error and not the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My sister makes his candy alot, her family really enjoys it. Tastes much like the "Almond Roca" we grew up eating. As one reviewer noted she lined the cookie sheet, which is what I did. Can't imagine cleaning that pan afterwards. Folded the foil just to fit the crackers which kept the sugar mixture right on the crackers, less run off. My crackers were floating in the sugar mixture We liked the milk chocolate chips better than the bittersweet. Again, as one reviewer noted, I had to put the pan back in the oven to melt the chocolate chips, then spread them somewhat evenly over the candy. Much easier and cleaner, for your hand, to break up if you put in freezer for abut 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have made this candy for years and I use light brown sugar. The recipe is called Soda Cracker Candy. I clipped it out of a newspaper some 20 yrs. or more ago and it was put in by an elderly lady who said she did not want the recipe to die with her so she sent it into the newspaper to be printed. Have loved it ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
tastes great, but do not try to do with graham crackers...it just didn't do as well as saltines, even with adding just a little more salt in the sugar mixture. I did the whole boil for 3 minutes (soft boil stage) and I found my chocolate layer was coming away from the crackers - all problems I did not have with the saltines! If anyone has an explanation, please let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
loved this candy but the waxed paper stuck to the candy and I couldn't get if off lots of the pieces...couldn't give away with waxed paper stuck. I am going to try and line pan with foil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was really weird. Had the ingredients on hand and thought it was worth a shot- The kids wouldn't even eat it. Giving it two stars because as far as I could tell, it did come out like it was supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Like many others have commented I use brown sugar. Make sure you use real butter not margarine. I use a jelly roll pan lined with foil. It holds exactly one sleeve of saltines. I sprinkle half with chopped pecans on top of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queenlalisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Easy to make. Made because of the raves from other reviewers, but I just wasn't wild about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had heard about this from a friend prior to finding this recipe! She told me that it was absolutely delicious and so I decided to search for it here on Allrecipes. I came upon this recipe (it was the highest rated) and I must say I absolutely can see & taste why! I just finished breaking it up into pieces after I let it set up overnight in the fridge! How marvelous this is! Who would have thought crackers could be so good? The only modification I made was in the sugar area since I had read a lot of the reviews in which folks said to use brown sugar instead of white. It came out fabulously!! I used 1 cup of brown sugar to the 2 sticks of butter. Also, I covered my pan with waxed paper before baking off the crackers and sugar mixture. It made for a much easier clean up! Wonderful recipe! I am sharing it with all my friends! This is certainly a keeper and yields quite a lot of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States