Cracker Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This recipe was simply delicious! I've been told that you can also make this with graham crackers. I think that the salt must make a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very easy and very yummy! I would even consider making it without the nuts to really enjoy the rich flavor of the cracker layer. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Excellent Recipe. Everyone loved it, goes quickly. I've been making this for a while and it is always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
So easy and sooo good. Made many batches of this last year for Christmas and will make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I have been making this recipe for years, and was so happy to see it has made its way to this website! Every time I make it, it vanishes. I always include these in a basket I make for my husbands office every Christmas, and they request it again every year! BTW - You do have to boil the butter/sugar mixture well, otherwise the sugar doesn't melt and it has a grainy texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was so good! I used fat free saltines and it's still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelley's Belly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
The taste is really a five but the recipe got a 4 since it isn't very specific for those who haven't made this before; like me. I can't believe this would ever not taste good! It has a wonderful toffee flavor and crunchy texture. Specifically, this is how it went for me. I mixed my white sugar with some light brown sugar. I lightly oiled my foil first and used club crackres instead of saltines. The club crackers baked light and crisp. I also melted the chocolate chips first in the microwave then spread it on so it would look like a candy bar after it cooled. I did make sure that the butter and sugar lightly boiled to where it foamed while I whisked. I think if I had merely stirred it I would have gotten a granular texture. While baking it continues to bubble. I had to be patient and wait for the browning edges. Which took more than 5 minutes. This stuff came out great and is so inexpensive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Very good. I don't think I've ever made this with actual saltines since we never seem to have them in the house, so it's usually been Ritz crackers, or some kind of buttery cracker. Either way, the results are the same and this never lasts but a day or so in my house. Sometimes I reduce the butter by a couple of tablespoons when I make this as well as the sugar, and it doesn't seem to affect the candy as a whole. Good during Christmas, or any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
It was sooo easy. Super tasty. I had a hard time keeping it in my house as my husband kept gobbling it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I highly recommend making the toffee layer with light brown sugar. It truly gives the candy a Skor taste. The first time I made this tasty treat, it didn't turn out quite so tasty. I had used white granulated sugar and followed the recipe exactly. The consistency of the toffee seemed odd even after 5 minutes. I decided not to rate the recipe based on that experience, since I'm sure I was largely at fault. I saw a recommendation for brown sugar and decided to try it out. The end result was absolute perfection. Make sure that you use the salted saltines. The saltiness helps to balance the sweetness of the toffee. I only used one cup of chocolate chips and it was enough for me. I prefer more toffee anyway. I also used crushed, toasted almonds. One very important thing...make sure to lay wax paper under the crackers. The toffee soaks through and was a pain to wash. Let the candy sit for about 10 minutes on the counter, then slide it into the freezer for about 20-30 minutes. Pick the candy up by the wax paper and break away pieces. Store the candy in the fridge or place a few pieces in the freezer for 20 minutes for extra crunchiness. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.Jackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hard Candy

Master the technique of making colorful hard candy in 99 seconds.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States