Cracked Wheat Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was one of the best breads I have made. I will definitely use this recipe again. It turned out moist and chewy with a light crisp crust. I added pumpkin seeds on top. Everyone loved it. Sliced thin it was great for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Freeland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This bread was really good! I do miss the salt and will ad a little next time I make it. also will grind the flax seed. Everything else was fine. It takes a little longer to rise than regular yeast bread but it's worth it! I have not made bread with just sourdough before but it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I am relatively new to sourdough (3 months or so). I made this bread with my own "homegrown" sourdough made from white flour and pineapple juice. It worked! - it just took time and patience. I've been baking some sort of sourdough bread weekly since then. I love a heavy bread that is full of whole grains and this is one of those. At first I made the bread as written but have tried variations (added oatmeal, used only molasses vs. half honey etc.). My sourdough works best when well fed - I usually keep it in the refrigerator during the week and take it our Thursday night or Friday morning for Saturday baking. My base (the amount kept for later baking) is a small amount (1/4 cup or so) to allow for multiple feedings of flour and water just before baking spaced about 6 to 8 hours apart. Well fed starter makes the difference for me as to whether my bread will rise without using commercial yeast. Before putting back into the refrigerator I feed the small amount reserved from baking (1/4 cup) with an equal amount of flour and a very small amount of water to make a very thick batter - this helps the starter to keep in the cold until taken back out a day or so before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I have wanted to make cracked wheat sourdough for ages but i thought it would be complicated, but to my surprise it was so easy and such a good taste. I had no problem with the rise as i added some vitamin c powder, and no yeast, i dont think you should use yeast if your sourdough is active and mine is very active. I did add some salt about a teaspoon,other than that i followed the recipe will make it again most definitely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Delicious loaf but with some flavor component elusively missing. After making a few loaves it dawned on me: it needs salt. It's also not as "sour" as some sourdoughs I make. I halve the recipe and bake one very large free form loaf on a baking stone. I give the loaf one long slash and skip the egg wash. I spray the loaf with water several times during baking to encourage a bit of a crisp crust, but this is not a loaf that gets very crisp. I haven't used the flax seeds since that's not an ingredient I use much. I also use butter instead of margarine. I also do the whole recipe start to finish in one bowl in the Kitchen Aid and knead for 5-6 minutes on medium-low speed. My husband adores this bread so am looking forward to his reaction to our next loaf with a little salt in it. This is definitely one of the staple breads in our house now. It doesn't get much easier to make than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbylovespluto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My family loved this bread. As other reviewers suggested, I added 1 tsp. yeast and 1 tsp salt. We love the fact that it has so many healthy grains in it. It is great toasted too. Next time I will let it bake a little longer as the center was a little "doughy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Add salt to the recipe! Excellent flavor, needs salt! I followed the recipe and the first bite, I said, I forgot the salt. After re-reading the recipe, I saw salt was missing. I would add 1-2 tsp. the next time. The flavor of this bread is absolutely WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This is delicious bread. I am giving 4 instead of 5 stars, because like other reviewers, I think both salt and yeast are needed. I added 1/2 teaspoon and used salted butter, and I added 1 teaspoon yeast. The crust was a little too chewy for sandwiches but toasted was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I am new to bread making, so maybe I am doing something wrong, but this bread just doesn't turn out right. I have made it twice, and I must have had to potent of a starter, because in the first rise, after the hour and a half it had tripled.... same for the second rise. Then when I put it in the pans, it hardly rose at all, and the bit that it did rise, it fell flat after putting th egg wash on and while baking. Today I made it again, this time with a more aged starter. It rose about right for the first two rises, and rose good for the pan rise, (although it took two hours instead of the one called for) but again fell after I put the egg wash on (I was very gentle) and baking. It didn't fall as much this time though. The bread tastes too "sour" and doesn't have good "bread" texture. (I am sure that is from falling.) I might try making this again, but with half the starter called for, and then just let it rise once before putting it in the pans. I am afraid to waste my time again though. *sigh* (BTW: Last week I made a basic sourdough bread recipe with the same sourdoug starter, and it worked out perfect, so I don't think it is my starter.) **The bread did rise (with no extra yeast) and so many other people like it, that I give it four stars. Maybe I am doing something wrong, and maybe other people like bread that "sour".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This is very good bread. I did a little trouble getting it to rise. I think the next time I will use some yeast also. I did increase the amount of salt per others suggestions. Also I used all honey because I didn't have any molasses on hand. This made great sandwiches too. I will diffently be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States