Cracked Wheat Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
having a hard time with this recipe. Once I get the bugs out (not using a bread machine) I'll rate this differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Excellent bread! I put a couple of teaspoons of flax seed in it and it is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Delicious, light bread with a crunchy crust. I used the bread machine to mix the dough, then baked it in the oven at 175C (350F) for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debora
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Very good recipe, but I somehow adapted it to be prepared without a bread machine: I made this by hand. Soaked wheat in 1 1/2 cups (slightly more than the recipe asks for) boiling water for 1 hour. When it was warm, I mixed in the oats, honey, a full teaspoon of salt, and in addition to the oil the recipe asks for, I added 3 tablespoons softened butter. Next, I dissolved 1 packet dry yeast in 1/4 warm water, and placed the wheat/oat mixture and the dissolved yeast in a large bowl. Next I proceeded to add the flour, 1 cup at a time. I did have to use slightly more than the recipe asked for, since I wanted to make free-standing loaves. I must have used a total of 3 cups flour. I kneaded by hand until ingredients were mixed (adding flour as necessary) and then placed the dough and let it rise until tripled (yes, it tripled!) in volume. Lastly, I formed the dough into two loaves, rolled them in oats and let them rise again, until almost doubled, in a greased cookie sheet. Baked at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes, until loaves were golden. Family tip: when forming yeast bread loaves, always save a little ball of dough (about the size of a cherry) and place it in a glass with room- temperature water. Let it sit in your kitchen while you wait for the bread to rise, gently mixing the water every now and then to prevent the dough ball from sticking to the bottom of the glass. When the ball rises to the top of the water, the loaves are ready to be baked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This bread was great when fresh out of the oven. It was a little dry after it cooled. I made this in the oven after making the dough in the breadmaker, so that may have something to do with it. I will try again, but add a little more oil. Otherwise, the flavor was good, the texture just right and a crusty crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This bread didn't rise very high and didn't have a lot of flavor. We wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
The oats get kind of lost in this, but the taste is still good. The recipe turns out a pretty dense loaf if you use whole wheat flour, even if you let it rise a long time. I added 2 T. gluten and used 1/4 c. flax and 1/4 c. wheat bran to replace some of the white flour. I think the recipe could use either some more honey or some more salt, depending on your preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Sounds good but where are the rest of the instructions? I don't have a bread machine & not a very good baker so it would be easier with a few more instructions. Thanks, Dartlove from Bolivia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
A very good bread. It was very light and crunchy. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY68
Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States