Cracked Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
With a soft texture and a firm yet giving crust, this Cracked Wheat bread recipe sure pleased our taste buds. This was the first recipe we used with cracked wheat and it was delicious. Because of past experiences with wheat flour we feared this bread would be dense but it was far from it with a hint of sweetness. Like another reviewer, we found the bread needed to rise longer than specified (ours took over an 1 hour on the first rise and an 1 1/2 hour on the second rise). But don't let this stop you from using this recipe, this will be our go-to wheat bread from now on. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jools

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn Kemp-VanSwol
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is the best Cracked Wheat Bread Recipe I had ever used. I cut the All Purpose Flour down to a bit over 3 cups for that soft texture and great crumb... The 4 cups is good but a bit more dense. And too, I like to toss in a couple Tablespoons of Flax Seed to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Kemp-VanSwol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I am eating a piece fresh out of the oven as I am writing this. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have searched for a great wheat bread recipe for years- I've finally found it! Unbelievable texture and the flavor (with a little extra molasses on my part!) is heavnly. My family loves it and so do I. THanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was a very good recipe. The bread turned out perfect. I wanted it for a good toasting bread, however it was to soft for my taste. It also was a bit crumbly, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Absolutely phenomenal. I recently started breadmaking when the in-laws gave us a Kitchenaid. This and Challah I (joan callaway) are my favorites so far. Of the wheat bread I've made this is, hands down, the best. I tossed in a little wheat germ and replaced the water with whey (including cooking the cracked wheat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Excellent recipe. I increased the amount of whole-wheat flour (reducing the white flour proportionately, but still retaining some). Great flavor, great "crumb." Makes wonderful toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love Lilacs
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This bread was great! It has a wonderful aroma that lasts. The crust is perfectly crusty. You don't even need to put anything on it. Plain is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Lilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
nice bread, slightly sweet. I like the chrunchy crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon
Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I have made several wheat breads in our bread machine -- most from "all recipes". This is by far the best. My husband rated it "outstanding!" Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States