Cracked Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I started making it several months ago. Now my family wants only this bread. Gave some to a friend now I am a hero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is a great recipe, I used sprouted wheat and truvia instead of molasses and honey. Came out delicious. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
SO good! This is a light, simple recipe. I, too, was afraid that this was going to be a dense bread, but I'm pleasantly surprised. I did have to let the bread rise for quite a while the second time, probably close to another hour instead of a half hour, and the loaves still turned out a little on the small side. I will just have to let them rise longer next time to achieve the desired height. I have no complaints about the taste of the bread, though. This recipe makes great toast in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Wonderful flavor. Paired with a homemade jam, it's just perfect. Easy to follow instructions. Even easier with the Kitchenaid stand mixer... No kneading needed. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is an awesome recipe, however I substituted cracked rye for cracked wheat and used less honey to reduce the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The molasses really deepens the flavor. Toasted and smeared with honey = NIRVANA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHESTHOLM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good bread recipe. I did the whole wheat/unbleached flour 1/2 and 1/2. Love the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I have replaced my other cracked wheat bread with this recipe. I have been making homemade bread for 50 years and this is the most wonderful bread I have ever tasted. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Belinda M
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This bread was very good!! I did change the serving size to "30" so it would make enough dough for 2- 9x5 inch loaves. The original recipe only made two small loaves for me and I like a little larger loaf. I used demerara sugar in place of the honey and molasses, used 1 tablespoon SAF instant yeast and added 2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten. I cooked the wheat, let it cool; then added 1 tsp. demerara sugar, the wheat flour and yeast and let it sit for 10 minutes until bubbly. I then stired in all the other ingredients to the yeast-wheat mixture and put the dough into my bread machine for 15 to 20 minutes( just to stir and knead the dough) then I let it rise until it doubled in an oiled bowl. Shaped into 2 loaves and let it rise again in the bread pans. Baked at 350 degrees for 40 minutes... Awesome!!! My whole family loves this bread.. Note: If you use all-purpose flour add some vital wheat gluten or use Bread flour so your bread will rise better and have a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very nice. I think I overbaked it, but that's my fault--the crust was very hard, but the inside was still very soft and hearty. I used wheat bran since I don't have cracked wheat, and didn't boil it bc I didn't think it was necessary with the wheat bran. After everything, it turned out a very lovely bread. Hearty ww flavor yet soft enough for sandwich breads. I did add about a tablespoon or so of wheat gluten. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States