Cracked Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Very good, my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Nice recipe. The people I bake bread for gave it 5 stars. I made a few changes that were mentioned in the reviews. Butter instead of margarine, 2 cups of bread flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, and just a bit more cracked wheat. I did make one mistake and that was I soaked the cracked wheat in water that wasn't part of the bake so the hydration of the loaf was a bit wetter and had to add a bit more flour to compensate for that. Next time I'll read the directions a little better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this today with great success. I had to alter it a bit..I soaked 1/4 c cracked wheat in 1/2 c hot water, then cooled it before adding in the regular order. Used 2T olive oil rather than margarine, 2 c whole wheat flour, 3/4 c bread flour, 1/4 c flax meal, 1/4 c ground oats and 2 T wheat gluten. Baked it in my oven at 405 degrees, as it is convection and I have to raise the temp by 35 degs for the 8400ft elevation where I live. The bread is great, dense and firm texture for toast or sandwiches. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
Very tasty, wheaty bread. Full bodied. Toasts great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Even my husband likes this bread. I also added some flaxseed meal and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of bread flour and it came out delicious. Also replaced margarine with olive oil and agave nectar for the brown sugar - much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Excellent bread! Texture was light, cracked wheat adds a little crunch. The only caveat was my crust was slightly crunchy (but that was because the dough was too large for my 1.5 lb Zojirushi) and I had to continue baking the bread in the oven at 375 for another 15 minutes after the baking cycle completed. Even after that little snafu, the bread still came out tasty with a light texture which will be great for sandwiches and toast! Will need to use the dough cycle next time and bake in a 9x5 loaf pan. Note: I subbed in 1-1/3 cup whole wheat flour (instead of using just 1/3 cup of whole wheat and reduced bread flour to 2 cups). Highly recommend! Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My family and I loved this recipe! It doesn't taste "yeasty" as a lot of the others have. I added some whole oats well after "the beep for adding more ingredients". Other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was awesome. I am making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This has quickly become our families favorite bread! Outstanding flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Will be making this again. Very nice. Took another reviewer's suggestion and used 2 cups white and 1 1/3 whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States