Cracked Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Best Bread recipe... I use warm milk and olive instead of powder milk, water and margarine. Perfect every time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Great bread. I also added 2 tablespoons of gluten & 2 cups of whole wheat flour & placed it in the microwave to rise which worked well the first time. The second time I made it, it was not rising so heated my oven to the lowest setting (170), turned the oven off & put the bread in & it raised beautifully. Also added some wheat germ. Did not use a bread machine, just kneaded it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Very good and easy. Light texture. The only addition I made was 1tablespoon vital wheat gluten to help it rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of bread flour and it came out delicious. Also replaced margarine with olive oil and agave nectar for the brown sugar - much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Will be making this again. Very nice. Took another reviewer's suggestion and used 2 cups white and 1 1/3 whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Nice recipe. The people I bake bread for gave it 5 stars. I made a few changes that were mentioned in the reviews. Butter instead of margarine, 2 cups of bread flour, 1 cup whole wheat flour, and just a bit more cracked wheat. I did make one mistake and that was I soaked the cracked wheat in water that wasn't part of the bake so the hydration of the loaf was a bit wetter and had to add a bit more flour to compensate for that. Next time I'll read the directions a little better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This is a great bread with nice crumb and flavor. Used to make it all the time and dream of making it again, if only I had time! The crunch to the crust is great and always a hit with my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This has quickly become our families favorite bread! Outstanding flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this today with great success. I had to alter it a bit..I soaked 1/4 c cracked wheat in 1/2 c hot water, then cooled it before adding in the regular order. Used 2T olive oil rather than margarine, 2 c whole wheat flour, 3/4 c bread flour, 1/4 c flax meal, 1/4 c ground oats and 2 T wheat gluten. Baked it in my oven at 405 degrees, as it is convection and I have to raise the temp by 35 degs for the 8400ft elevation where I live. The bread is great, dense and firm texture for toast or sandwiches. I will make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
My family and I loved this recipe! It doesn't taste "yeasty" as a lot of the others have. I added some whole oats well after "the beep for adding more ingredients". Other than that I stuck to the recipe and it was awesome. I am making it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States