Cracked Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
If it wasn't for the fact that I'm this recipe's first reviewer it would suffice to simply say, "Mmmmm," and add that Hubs remarked that this was "A five" - virtually unheard of. So I'll expand and say that not only were these made in no time, they were soft and tender with that characteristic sandy texture so familiar in cookies where cream of tartar is one of the ingredients. I HATE rolling out sugar cookies and these had the advantage of turning out perfectly round, perfect for decorating. I glazed them with "Shiny Cookie Icing," also from this site, before decorating them for Halloween. I'm very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
My boyfriend is a sugar cookie snob and these are his absolute favourite! =) I made tiny ones to have with tea and they're absolutely wonderful alone! Add some sweet orange marmalade to a nice, warm, fresh-out-of-the-oven cookie and they're divine! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinupgirl300

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great comfort cookie...especially tasty while still warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I thought this was an excellent recipe! It is super sweet and my kids absolutely loved it! If you are careful not to over bake them, they are tender and chewy. So happy this recipe worked for me as I was in such a time crunch trying to please a little birthday boy and his last minute request for "sugar cookies with colored sugar on them." Also, I have an electric oven and baked them the full 15 minutes. Any less and they were too flat. This is my new favorite sugar cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is my favorite sugar cookie recipe from this site. I don't usually make any recipe that only has a few reviews but I'm glad I did! I was looking for the perfect soft cookie recipe and I found it. The first time I made them I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out very tasty but the texture was a little off. There were a lot of holes in them so the second time I made them I mixed the vanilla extract in with the wet ingredients and then sifted all of the dry ingredients together well in a separate bowl and then blended it all together with an electric mixer. They turned out perfect! Sugary sweet and soft. Make sure you take them out of the oven before they brown so you get a soft cookie! This is my go to sugar cookie recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I was looking for a cookie recipe that only used egg yolks after making meringue cookies. The texture was quite nice. I found it a bit oily and a bit too sweet. I would suggest cutting the oil back a bit, and not to bother with rolling in sugar. Also, with my convection oven (which I'm still learning how to use), 2 batches at 300 (automatically switched down to 275 on convection setting), it took about 22 minutes for them to puff up nicely, still before browning. I'm thinking my go-to recipe for sugar cookies is still "Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
These turned out great! Chewy and sweet enough they don't need icing if you don't want to. I added more vanilla than the recipe called for and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was a great cookie! I had some dehydrated cranberries sitting around, and by adding some to the batter, the tartness of the cranberries helped douse the sweetness of the cookie. I will definitely be using these for my party tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyMango

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very delicious! I have made them for 2 events and they turned out great each time. If I were to change one thing though, it would be to take them out of the oven just 1 or 2 minutes earlier, but they are great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States