Cracked Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
These were great. Very basic, very simple to make and easy to eat. I used vanilla, but will try almond and maybe maple soon. These are a good no frills cookie jar everyday cookie, and so simple to get done there is no reason they should not be a staple. Husband and kids all loved them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Good basic recipe that was easy and the kids loved 'em. The dough made nowhere near 5.5 dozen for me, but I wasn't concerned about making them uniformly sized or shaped so it didn't matter. I used 2 sticks of butter because I didn't have shortening, and omitted the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I was very excited about this recipe, but after trying it, I'm afraid all I can give it is 3 stars and I'm only giving it that because ,with some tinkering it can be fixed. I followed it to a tee. but got a very flat, greasy cookie. I think it needs either less shortening or more flour. I thought with the amount of baking powder called for it would be a "puffier" cookie. Also my oven is right on as far as temperature goes and I had to add at least 5 more minutes to the cooking time in order to get cookies that were even remotely done. On the positive side, the large amount of extract makes the cookies very flavorable. As I said, with some adjustments this recipe have good potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
EASY RECIPE AND EVERY BODY IN MY HOME LOVED IT I JUST ADDED WALNUTS THAT WERE FINELY GRATED IN A MIXER . THANKS FOR THE WONDERFUL AND YUMMY COOKIES ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My husband loves these cookies. They are great for an easy treat. I use the butter shortening, everyone who has ever tried them loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Nice dough, easy to work with and keeps its shape well during baking. Unfortunately, these were way too sweet for my taste, even before I glazed them. Be sure to eat these with a tall glass of milk, reduce the sugar a bit, or simply move on to another recipe that is not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I loved these! Simple and tasty. Only change I made was because I didn't have enough shortening. I did half shortening and half butter. They were great! I will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe, add some pumkin pie spice for a great holiday treat !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Fantastic cookies. Easy and soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I loved this recipe- very easy. I used 4 different coloured sugars and they were a hit at the party! For Christmas I am using red and green sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerrie Legree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States