Cracked Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
be carefull, these can come out thin and flat.... but will always taste great! Try with almond extract or lemon wrind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
My family loved these. By mistake I mis read and used only 1/2 cup of shortening. They still turned out very good. A little chewy but we liked them that way. I also used almond extract. And will soon just try vanilla and see how that taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Easy to make. Very good cookie! Soft, delicate, yummy! I rolled mine in cinnamon and sugar before baking! They held their shape when cooking! Thanks for the recipe! Love it! I did not find that they were too sweet! They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
after tasting my original batch I realized that this recipe need some assistance. First of all 1 additional tsp of vanilla extract is needed. Secondly 1 cup of shortening is way too much the cookies taste too much like shortening use half butter or margarine and half shortening. Otherwise the cookies were indeed soft and stayed that way overnight. Of course I always use my stay soft cookie trick which is put them in ziplock freezer bags while still warm. It holds the moisture and the cookies remain soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I needed to make something quick using the limited ingredients I had in the house and this served me very well. I used salted butter instead of shortening (because that's what I had) and reduced salt to 1/4 tsp. They turned out crispy on the bottom, chewy on top, and a bit gooey in the middle, which I like. Since I used butter they also tasted very buttery and extremely rich. It was easy and it turned out well. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
loved these cookies, so easy to make and taste great ! my daughter and I made these for christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Quick, easy & versatile recipe. Scaled recipe down by half, and opted not to wait the 1 hour for the dough to chill. Instead, I did drop cookies. Had to bake them for about 12-13 minutes though - my advice is just keep an eye out for them to turn just barely golden brown on top. I opted not to roll the cookies in sugar, instead I sprinkled either cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice over the top as they came out of the oven. Turned out perfect. Will definitely be making again, and I plan on trying the recipe with different extracts or spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made these without the extra sugar...For adult tastes-not too sweet. I also used butter. I made these cookies 2 ways, as the top of the recipe says it takes 24 hours. I made the dough and left it sit in the fridge overnight, about 16 hours. The dough was SO stiff, it was really hard on my wrist to scoop it out. The next day I made another batch using orange extract, but only left the dough in the fridge for 1 hr 15 minutes. Doing it that way was a breeze to scoop for balls. To make up for it not being as cold, once I had rolled it in balls I put the cookie sheets in the fridge to get nice and cold for about 15 minutes. No matter what I did, these were never cooked in 8-9 minutes, it took closer to 20 minutes...the bottom rack in a regular oven did not brown, so I would take the top rack cookies out first, then switch the cookies on bottom rack to the top rack for 2 minutes and they browned nicely. TIP: for cookie "marathons" (I always make several cookie batches the same day as I hate getting the mixer, pans etc dirty over and over) use parchment paper to make your cookies, and cut the parchment paper to fit exactly into the pan you are using. (I use heavy duty aluminum pans). You can use the parchment paper over and over (I have done this as many as 10 times with the same paper)...I used to hate making cookies until I discovered that you can use the parchment paper over and over and it makes cleanup a breeze. Great recipe! Cake like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These are sweet and they turned out a little less soft than I expected. I used butter flavored Crisco for the shortening and they wound up with a buttery flavor that didn't quite fit the taste of the cookie.I might make these again using regular shortening, and baking them slightly less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I'm giving this three stars because the cookies were easy to make and they come out looking beautiful. But there is too much shortening in the reci; all I can taste is shortening and sugar. I think using butter instead and using a bit less would work much better. If I use this recipe again, it'll have to be tweaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States