Cracked Sugar Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Nice dough, easy to work with and keeps its shape well during baking. Unfortunately, these were way too sweet for my taste, even before I glazed them. Be sure to eat these with a tall glass of milk, reduce the sugar a bit, or simply move on to another recipe that is not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I was very excited about this recipe, but after trying it, I'm afraid all I can give it is 3 stars and I'm only giving it that because ,with some tinkering it can be fixed. I followed it to a tee. but got a very flat, greasy cookie. I think it needs either less shortening or more flour. I thought with the amount of baking powder called for it would be a "puffier" cookie. Also my oven is right on as far as temperature goes and I had to add at least 5 more minutes to the cooking time in order to get cookies that were even remotely done. On the positive side, the large amount of extract makes the cookies very flavorable. As I said, with some adjustments this recipe have good potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Sunderman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shepherd, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
These were great. Very basic, very simple to make and easy to eat. I used vanilla, but will try almond and maybe maple soon. These are a good no frills cookie jar everyday cookie, and so simple to get done there is no reason they should not be a staple. Husband and kids all loved them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This is a great, easy recipe. I just made these with my 2 yr old and they turned out fabulous. I scaled the recipe in half and followed all directions exactly. They are sweet, but I don't think too sweet. You could always cut back on the sugar if you want. I would add 1/4 cup more flour next time since I live at high altitude. They would be great with different extracts. I would love to try lemon or orange. I used a tablespoon sized scoop and had to cook them about 12 minutes. I do think these cookies would be too sweet with a glaze on top, using the sugar or sprinkles was perfect for me. I can't stop eating them! EDITED 6 hrs after initial review to change from 4 to 5 stars. I can't stop eating these, they really are very, very good. I will have to make them again in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLKane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Because I was running short on time, I was looking for a sugar cookie that I didn't have to roll out. So instead of my usual recipe, I decided to try this one. Besides, my children said they preferred a softer cookie. My daughter took one bite and said 'Now this is what a sugar cookie should taste like'. Instead of rolling them into balls, I used a scoop which wasn't as messy as having to roll them by hand and much quicker. I also used 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. almond extract. The only other change I would make is to decrease the sugar. Even my kids agreed it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this recipe several times now. They're just pefect. Gave them as gift too and received ooohs and aaahs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
These are fabulous!!! I used all butter instead of shortening and used tsps of rum extract in lieu of the vanilla. These are so very good!! Really easy too!! Thank you for posting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Very good! No need for frosting, they are VERY sweet if you roll them in sugar like it says to do. I also rolled half of mine in a cinnamon-sugar mix and that added a nice touch. Nice and soft if you don't bake them too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Quick, easy & versatile recipe. Scaled recipe down by half, and opted not to wait the 1 hour for the dough to chill. Instead, I did drop cookies. Had to bake them for about 12-13 minutes though - my advice is just keep an eye out for them to turn just barely golden brown on top. I opted not to roll the cookies in sugar, instead I sprinkled either cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice over the top as they came out of the oven. Turned out perfect. Will definitely be making again, and I plan on trying the recipe with different extracts or spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe, add some pumkin pie spice for a great holiday treat !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States