Cracked Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a lovely cookie! I followed the recipe exactly, watching the cookies closely the last couple of minutes of baking. They are exactly as described and pictured. In my oven, 12 minutes was perfect. One note: I didn't grease the pans - it's not necessary with the amount of butter in the dough. This is my new sugar cookie recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is, by far, the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried. Thanks to other reviewers, because I use unsalted butter, I did add 1/2 tsp of salt and when the batter appeared too crumbly once all ingredients were incorporated I did add about 1 tbsp of milk just to make it easier to work with. I had to bake for 12min. These are the first sugar cookies I have ever made which have not flattened out once removed from the oven. These maintained their height in the oven and out; definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I made this recipe today and I can't say how much we all love it! This is the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever made by far! They look perfect too, I will make this one of my regular cookie recipes now for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carly Broadway
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This cookie was almost perfect- it had a nice vanilla flavor, baked extremely well with a beautiful cracked top, and had a soft chewy center. However, there was a sort of floury, rough taste/texture when bitten into. I would suggest being conservative with the flour, mixing 4 cups into the prepared dough and then slowly adding the fifth as needed. A tad more vanilla and maybe some lemon zest could really liven up the flavor. My brother gave it a 7.5 so not too shabby! Overall a good cookie- still very happy with the way it came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Dough was too wet and sticky to roll into balls. Tasted very plain. They puffed up and didn't lay flat. I had to frost them to give them flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Gilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linh Duong
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Made these cookies yesterday and they were delicious!! I usually like to cut back on the sugar when following a recipe, so I only used 1 cup of sugar. A helpful tip is to NOT bake these on parchment paper. I used the same batch of cookie dough, baked half of it on parchment and the other half on a cookie sheet. You will only get the cracked effect on the cookie sheet. Parchment paper makes a more cakey cookie, and not so chewy. Other than that, my family loved these!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linh Duong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe!! The hubs is a auger cookie fanatic. He says these are better than what he can get at the bakery. I was a bit concerned because my dough was fairly crumbly. I thought maybe I added too much sugar or flour but I paid close attention to my measurements. I went ahead and baked a batch because although it looked crumbly, it formed wonderfully. This is now my go-to cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Super easy to make. Make sure you scrape the bowl as you're mixing to ensure all the wet and dry ingredients are fully incorporated-it will make the dough easier to handle. Also, next time I make these I will err on the side of under baking them as they over bake very easily (watch for the cracking, not the golden color). A great cookie-with or without frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
These are excellent. If you are looking to replicate the pillsbury refrigerator holiday cookies that you can get in the grocery store, this is it!! Nice chewy center with slightly crispy edges.I prepared according to recipe for my first batch and had to swap 1 1/2 cups whole wheat the second time. Both batches came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angel
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made these for Christmas with red sugar crystals to make them more festive. Excellent simple recipe! It was fast and easy, I even got my son to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States