Crabmeat Canapes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I followed the advice of the other reviewers and used garlic powder in place of garlic salt. I also lightly toasted the muffins first. I was unable to find Kraft Old English cheese so I used Wispride sharp cheddar in the dairy section of the grocery store. These were very good. My kids loved them too, I called them "Krabby Patties"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made these for Superbowl Sunday and we loved them. I didn't cut the muffins after splitting them. My husband and I liked them so much, we ate the whole muffin halves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Great recipe, but as written it is way too salty. Suggest-as others have-using garlic powder instead of salt. I used 5 ounces of "Pub Cheese", a cheddar cheese (real cheese, not that icky Velveeta) spread available at Trader Joe's. I try to keep some of these in the freezer for last minutes appetizers, but they're hard to keep around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I too cut back on the butter and these were very good. I made them once with canned lump crab and they were very very fishy, the second time I bought rab legs and shelled, they were AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Good overall, but I would suggest toasting the muffins before piling on the mixture and baking them. Mine got soggy. :( They were still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I served this for our Christmas brunch, & everyone loved it. I followed others' tips, and toasted the English muffins first. Also, I used shredded white cheddar- first made it into a sauce form by melting it in a double boiler with some half & half, then adding the other ingredients. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I found these good but just a little too salty on my first batch; the next time I substituted garlic powder for the garlic salt and they were just right! Really easy and convenient to freeze ahead for parties, too. Everyone who has tried them loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Awesome! I made these with 5oz jar Old English, and 1 c. shredded sharp white cheddar. No salt, used Lawry's and garlic powder, not garlic salt. I put it on individual bread rounds and topped with fresh chives. They were perfect. My 3yo could not stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I make this with just 4 ingredients - old english cheese, 1 stick butter, 1 can lump crabmeat - and the english muffin. These are always a hit!! I agree they are great to keep in the freezer and pop in the oven for unexpected guests!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My mother has made these since I was little. She uses Old English Spread from kraft.... I use bacon instead of crabmeat sometimes and comes out just as good. These ALWAYS disappear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States