Crabless Chicken Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I pulsed the chicken in a food processor instead of shredding it and added an egg to the mixture to make it hold together better. I also didn't have tartar sauce, so I just subbed more mayo. Could have made it a bit spicier. It turned out great! My 9 month old loved it. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I found this because I had leftover already cooked chicken from making quesadillas the night before. It's a fresh idea for left over chicken. I chopped the chicken breast in my food processor until it was pretty fine. This is key. I mixed it with egg, mayonnaise, garlic salt, paprika, and tarragon. I dipped the patties in egg and coated them in panko breading. pan fried in a non stick rachel ray small frying pan lightly sprayed with olive oil. I felt inspired to then put them on a baking sheet, cover them in marinara sauce, sprinkle each one with mozzerella and broil until the cheese was browned. They were good that night, and they were good as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I LOVED this! Before serving I squeezed fresh lemon juice over the cakes. This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Recipe was outstanding! I used leftover rotisserie chicken and substituted Dijon mustard for Tarter Sauce to give it a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was just ok. I made 2 batches: one with chopped chicken, but the cakes fell apart while cooking, and one with all the ingredients in a food processor. The second batch held together and looked more like crab cakes but they definately did not taste like crab cakes. Just sort of plain. Will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
What a fabulous recipe! Both my husband and I don't like seafood so these are a tasty alternative and a great way to use up leftover chicken. A squeeze of lemon on top before eating makes all the difference. Will be making these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
These were O.K. but not anything I would seek out. My husband liked them much better than I did. Looked like crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
These were so good. Make sure that you shred the chicken well, and you can hardly tell they are not crab. These will be a staple in our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Yumm-O and if I can offer a dipping sauce that goes great with these: CHICKEN CAKES DIPPING SAUCE 3/4 cup mayo 3 cloves minced garlic 2 1/2 tbsp. lemon juice 3/4 tsp. salt 1/2 tsp. pepper Stir all together, and chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
A pretty good recipe. A lot cheaper then using fresh crab. I used a rotesserie chicken from Costo and shredded really well like Jpillar suggested. Next time I will use a little least tartar sauce. Thank you Italian_Man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States