Crabless Chicken Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
These were so good. Make sure that you shred the chicken well, and you can hardly tell they are not crab. These will be a staple in our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I LOVED this! Before serving I squeezed fresh lemon juice over the cakes. This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
What a fabulous recipe! Both my husband and I don't like seafood so these are a tasty alternative and a great way to use up leftover chicken. A squeeze of lemon on top before eating makes all the difference. Will be making these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
A pretty good recipe. A lot cheaper then using fresh crab. I used a rotesserie chicken from Costo and shredded really well like Jpillar suggested. Next time I will use a little least tartar sauce. Thank you Italian_Man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
These were O.K. but not anything I would seek out. My husband liked them much better than I did. Looked like crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This was just ok. I made 2 batches: one with chopped chicken, but the cakes fell apart while cooking, and one with all the ingredients in a food processor. The second batch held together and looked more like crab cakes but they definately did not taste like crab cakes. Just sort of plain. Will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
These tasted good, like a tuna melt without the cheese, but they would not stay in a patty at all. We ended up with lumps of half-breaded chicken salad. Not sure what I could have done to keep the patties together. Only taste change I might make would be to add some chopped celery for more crunch. We have some leftovers; I'll probably throw some cheddar cheese on, melt in the oven, and throw on a bun for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I pulsed the chicken in a food processor instead of shredding it and added an egg to the mixture to make it hold together better. I also didn't have tartar sauce, so I just subbed more mayo. Could have made it a bit spicier. It turned out great! My 9 month old loved it. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Pretty good. I processed the chicken in my food processor so it was a good consistency. I also baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This is a tasty way of using up leftovers. I HATE cassaroles! I used turkey and subbed a shake of ground red pepper instead of the hot sauce. I let the mixture sit for a few minutes so that the cracker crumbs would get moist enough to form into patties. My turkey was in big hunks and it held together fine. I popped a tablespoon of butter with the olive oil for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States