Crabless Chicken Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was a very good, very easy recipe; I would call them "Kosher Crab Cakes" - the addition of the tarter sauce IN the cake is what I think makes them taste like crab. I used the suggestion of the egg, and I also chilled them an hour and they stayed together well. I used French's Fried Onions instead of crackers, added a little green can parm cheese, and fried them in peanut oil - all "out of my pantry" items, served them with rice. They were moist and so very good. Highest ratings for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Extremely good! Good flavor. Good use of leftover meat. Followed recipe exact exept for 1 thing and it only made 5 lacrosse sized ball patties if they were round.(Per other reviewers - I used Panko bread crumbs instead of crackers. I had them on hand.) My spouse said they were breaking up some. I didn't see it. There were ALOT of bread crumbs left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
These were delicious! Fried them up for a dinner guest, and we all went back for more, then our guest even ate the crumbles left on the serving plate. I would double this recipe next time! We didn't have cracker crumbs so we used panko crumbs instead. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is very excellent! It tastes so good! I cut the recipe in half because I didn't have enough chicken. It made three patties. I'm buying more chicken and making more of these crabless chicken cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very good recipe. I printed it out quite a while ago, but never seemed to get around to making it. I followed the recipe, except for using 1 tablespoon fresh parsley and using plain bread crumbs seasoned with 1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning. I had no trouble with them falling apart. I just waited until they were nicely browned on one side before gently turning them over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I had left over chicken and someone reccomended this recipe. I am glad they did. I liked it alot. My kids were a little weary of eatting it. One of them did not like it. Therefore I can only give it 4 stars. I will say that I think I bought the WORST tarter sauce in history, so make sure you use GOOD tarter sauce because it DOES make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I completely screwed up this recipe and it was still yummy. I didn't check the pantry before I started so my cracker crumbs and bread crumbs ended up being a mixture of ritz crackers, saltines and panko crumbs. I thought I had hot sauce and tarter sauce. I didn't. In the end I added Old Bay Seasoning and red pepper. I did have regular onions but used green onions just because I like them more. In any case, I really liked this in it's 'raw' form and as a cooked cake. My only complaint is that it doesn't hold together well but that's not too big of a deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made these as an appetizer for a Christmas party. I made them small and got about 30 pieces. I served them with the Remoulade sauce recipe on here. They were a big hit and disappeared quickly. I plan to make them again for dinner with larger cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Very good. I browned them using coconut oil and they came out crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Yumm-O and if I can offer a dipping sauce that goes great with these: CHICKEN CAKES DIPPING SAUCE 3/4 cup mayo 3 cloves minced garlic 2 1/2 tbsp. lemon juice 3/4 tsp. salt 1/2 tsp. pepper Stir all together, and chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie J Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States