Crabless Chicken Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I also added an egg. I had had plain bread crumbs, just added seasoning to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Everhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was actually pretty good! After reading some of the reviews, I used a food processor on my chicken and mixed the rest of the ingredients in after. Everything stuck together pretty well. My boyfriend was kind of iffy about trying it, but he said it was pretty good. Thanks ITALIAN_MAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Very good and easy to tweak to individual tastes. Thanks for the good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I absolutely love this idea! Although I did modify the recipe just a tad after reading other reviews. I added a touch of grainy mustard with horseradish, a few dashes of worcestershire sauce and a little cayenne pepper. I actually combined some leftover chicken salad that had celery in it as well as some leftover chicken and omitted the onion only because I didn't have any... absolutely fantastic. Another suggestion is to take a little mayo, the same mustard and a little s&p and put just a dab on top. You have to try this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I loved this recipe!!! I didn't have crackers or tarter sauce so I used lays potato chips and extra mayo, I also added basil and they came out wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I needed to use up some leftover crock-pot chicken and this recipe fit the bill. The flavor and texture was indeed similar to the bready type of crab cakes, but without that actual crab yumminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I had high hopes for this recipes based on the other good reviews. Sadly, it was just OK. I gave it 3 stars because it was easy, and a great way to use left over chicken. But, there wasn't much flavor. It tasted like plain breaded chicken. I can't put my finger on what it needs, maybe old bay? maybe lemon? or maybe just an awesome dipping sauce? I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
These were awesome! My husband had made chicken on the grill and we had 2 bone-in breasts left over the next day. Not about to waste those, so I looked up "leftover chicken recipes" and stumbled upon this recipe. I took the advice from some of the previous reviews and I used a processor to get the chicken as broken down as possible. This turned out perfectly since then I didn't need to use an egg to hold it together. The mayonnaise does a good job of that. I didn't have hot sauce so just used a tablespoon of hot Pace Picante sauce. I also substituted spicy mustard in place of the tartar sauce. For the breading, I used panko bread crumbs and I baked the cakes in the oven at 375 degrees for 15 minutes each side on a parchment-lined baking sheet. They ended up perfect with a fantastic crunch! I ate them plain, while my husband had his on hamburger buns with a bit of bbq sauce topping. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was a very good, very easy recipe; I would call them "Kosher Crab Cakes" - the addition of the tarter sauce IN the cake is what I think makes them taste like crab. I used the suggestion of the egg, and I also chilled them an hour and they stayed together well. I used French's Fried Onions instead of crackers, added a little green can parm cheese, and fried them in peanut oil - all "out of my pantry" items, served them with rice. They were moist and so very good. Highest ratings for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Extremely good! Good flavor. Good use of leftover meat. Followed recipe exact exept for 1 thing and it only made 5 lacrosse sized ball patties if they were round.(Per other reviewers - I used Panko bread crumbs instead of crackers. I had them on hand.) My spouse said they were breaking up some. I didn't see it. There were ALOT of bread crumbs left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States