Crabby Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Made it with real (deep fried) potatoes, a quarter cup of butter, cream of mushroom, and about two tablespoons of Old Bay. Almost restaurant quality -- the only downer was the difficulty of properly frying potatoes at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This is one of my all time favorites now. Definitely reduce the butter (I only did a half cup in the bottom of pan) and the cheese (I just used one 8 ounce package). I love seafood so this one was a hit. I even made it with smoked sausage kind of as a breakfast casserole. I like this one because I can prepare it the night before and leave it in the fridge and just put it in the oven when I get home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I made a few changes to it. I used real potatoes instead of frozen hash potatoes. I peeled, cut, and boiled them along with cut up califlour. When they were done boiling I mixed in 1 cup water with 1 can of cream of chicken soup, I also threw in the crabmeat. When I was done with that, I transferred it into a baking dish and topped it with cheddar cheese to make a lovely casserole. It tasted SOOOOOOO good. Hubby gobbled it up and then asked me to make it the next day. I ommited the sour cream & butter but next time I will definately add it. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I wish I too had read the reviews first...way too much butter...heart attack waiting to happen. I will try it again with some of the other viewers' ideas. It has a lot of yummy potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I used twice the amount of potatoes, and half the butter. Came out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Very filling and my youngest son could not get enough. Per the suggestion of other reviewers, I used a little less than half a cup of butter,tried cream of celery soup, and used about a cup to cup in a half of cheese. That seemed to work and I did not have the buttery mess that some reviewers spoke about and the cheese was not overwhelming. I was glad I read reviews before I made this one but will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe has potential, but it's a little different for my taste. I used 1/2 c butter and it was way too buttery. Butter oozing from everywhere, Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This recipe has the potential to be really good. I do wish I had read the reviews BEFORE making it. I agree that it calls for WAY TOO MUCH BUTTER! The dish had butter oozing from it everywhere! Also, I cut back on the cheese to 2-3 cups (8-12 oz). I'm glad I did because the 4 cups would have been too much...and I'm a cheese lover. Will definitely make this again with a butter adjustment. I'll also try the cream of celery soup as suggested by another reviewer. Might even add a little onion for added flavor and a light sprinkle of bread crumbs to top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Didn't like too much. Not very good with imitation crab meat. Very messy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Unusual combination and delicious, easy to make, great for family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States