Crabby Cream Cheese Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Based on everyone else's suggestions, I doubled the cream cheese (four bricks total) and these were awesome. It made a ton of wontons (more than one package of wrappers). I deep-fried half and them steamed the rest in my steamer for 12 minutes -- they came out wonderful (and no fat from the oil). Some people preferred the fried, others preferred the steamed -- every single one was eaten. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKALEA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
WOW!! Excellent taste...the sesame oil and scallions are a must in this recipe...the flavors were perfect together.....made them for a family gathering.....they were gone!! Will make these again and again....I used canned lump crab meat which i like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This recipe is very good and easy. I used egg-roll wrappers instead of wontons.I also served it as a dip with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
this is absolutely the most disgustsing and disappointing recipe i have tried on this website. if you are going to make these, use only a fraction of worcestershire, soy, and sesame oil that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
We used the little salad shrimp instead of crab and minced it in the processor before blending all the ingredients together. They turned out great!! Next time we make them (oh yes, there will be many more next times for this recipe!) we are going to scale back the recipe first of all, because I ran out of wrappers with half the filling left, and use less sesame oil and worchestire sauce and add pepper and see how they turn out. I also wonder how these would taste with a little wasabi worked in.... mmm lots of possibilities with this gem of a recipe! I agree with the other reviewers in that you can't put too much filling or they will leak, but I found that when they start to leak they are ready to come out of the oil anyway. Thanks so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAYOFSUN
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I threw all my ingredients in the food processor to acheive a more even distribution of ingredients on this recipe. If I change anything next time, it'll be to add four times as much cream cheese (or rather, cut everything by 3/4 except the cream cheese) in order to acheieve a crab rangoon more like those in the restaurants I go to. Otherwise, it was quick, easy, and awesome!!! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I make my own crab rangoons all the time...we like a litle more stuffing in ours than the restaurants around here add. I read the reviews and decided to change up the recipe just a little. I omitted the w. sauce and reduced the sesame oil just a little. We really liked the results. Thanks for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
These are soooo addicitve. They take a little time but are well worth it. The flavors come together so well. I doubled the recipe for these last time I made them and froze about half. They freeze very well after frying. When I'm craving for them I just pop them out of the freezer and into the oven or toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These wontons are just Great and I love the name because it's true these have crab in them and they are excellent and they are just like the ones you get in a Chinese place as a appitizer these are GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks, Shawn Salzman
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very yummy. Followed advice, used the 8 oz of cream cheese but then put in "4 servings" to adjust measurements and was PERFECT. Will make again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States