Crabbies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I remember my mom making these as a kid...loved them, love them still. However, instead of English muffins, I use a sliced up baguette. I do toast them in the oven first. Very good!! And yes, they are great to freeze and save for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I received a nearly identical recipe from my Mom's neighbor, who brought these over as a Christmas gift. My Mom despises seafood, and she had no idea there was crab in the recipe, eating several wedges and raving about them. She wouldn't eat any more after we told her...which was just fine with me and my hubby! Spread the topping on, freeze the muffins for about 30 minutes on a baking sheet, then cut into triangles...they don't last in our house. Thank you for posting this, Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluegrassgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Absolutely love these! Used to make them for all the parties years ago, but haven't had them in quite a while. So glad when I found the recipe, it's exactly as I used to make them. I'll be making these for Christmas Eve.... Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Made this yesterday for a girls gathering. Just blah!!! Won't make this recipe again! Followed recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I've loved this recipe for years -- great make-ahead appetizer. However, I add some green onion and some finely minced celery, as well as a dash of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My friend makes this same recipe (passed along from her family) and has always used canned crab instead of fresh. I love hers because they are salty, cheesy, rich decadence. When I made them I used fresh crab instead of canned. The outcome was totally different. The use of fresh crab produces a crabby that is has a heavy crab taste - loses the taste of the cheese almost entirely, but still very tasty. When you use canned crab you almost have no crab taste, but more cheese taste. Both taste so great - choose what you're in the mood for. People love these! Freeze uncooked crabbies & pull out of the freezer& broil for a quick appetizer or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcyclone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Not bad. My hubs is out of town (for business), so I'm cooking for myself this week. Not only was this a SNAP to prepare, it's easily adaptable too - eat what you want now and save the remaining crab filling / mixture for another time or use. Since I was only feeding myself, I halved everything. I refrigerated what I didn't need initially for a quick meal later on (NOTE: This makes a nice spread for crackers and makes for a quick midnight snack). I was able to make 3 lunches out of half a batch of this (the rest I noshed on late last night...). All in all, this was yummy, but not something I'd likely make often (or again). While good, this just didn't WOW me. Thanks Tracy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Crabbies are the best! I as well have made them for years with a few minor changes, 5 oz jar old english cheese is the best, 3/4 stick butter, claw crabmeat, 2 T mayo and 1/2 t garlic and lowry's salt. I spread on the split muffins, cut in triangles, freeze and store in ziploc bags. Broil for 5 minutes. Great to keep in the freezer over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I've been making these for over 30 years & they're still a favorite! I use Cheese Whiz & imitation crab meat, and no one knows the difference. I gave the recipe to a friend who bought a jar of Cheese Whiz Jalepeno without realizing it and almost burned her guest's throats! We used this to our advantage and since then have sometimes mixed in a small amount of the Jalepeno Whiz with the regular! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were gone in seconds. Even my non-crab eaters gobbled them up. So easy to make. It makes a lot so I froze 1/2 of them for an easy appetizer or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States