Crabbies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Made this yesterday for a girls gathering. Just blah!!! Won't make this recipe again! Followed recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I've loved this recipe for years -- great make-ahead appetizer. However, I add some green onion and some finely minced celery, as well as a dash of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My friend makes this same recipe (passed along from her family) and has always used canned crab instead of fresh. I love hers because they are salty, cheesy, rich decadence. When I made them I used fresh crab instead of canned. The outcome was totally different. The use of fresh crab produces a crabby that is has a heavy crab taste - loses the taste of the cheese almost entirely, but still very tasty. When you use canned crab you almost have no crab taste, but more cheese taste. Both taste so great - choose what you're in the mood for. People love these! Freeze uncooked crabbies & pull out of the freezer& broil for a quick appetizer or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcyclone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Not bad. My hubs is out of town (for business), so I'm cooking for myself this week. Not only was this a SNAP to prepare, it's easily adaptable too - eat what you want now and save the remaining crab filling / mixture for another time or use. Since I was only feeding myself, I halved everything. I refrigerated what I didn't need initially for a quick meal later on (NOTE: This makes a nice spread for crackers and makes for a quick midnight snack). I was able to make 3 lunches out of half a batch of this (the rest I noshed on late last night...). All in all, this was yummy, but not something I'd likely make often (or again). While good, this just didn't WOW me. Thanks Tracy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Crabbies are the best! I as well have made them for years with a few minor changes, 5 oz jar old english cheese is the best, 3/4 stick butter, claw crabmeat, 2 T mayo and 1/2 t garlic and lowry's salt. I spread on the split muffins, cut in triangles, freeze and store in ziploc bags. Broil for 5 minutes. Great to keep in the freezer over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I've been making these for over 30 years & they're still a favorite! I use Cheese Whiz & imitation crab meat, and no one knows the difference. I gave the recipe to a friend who bought a jar of Cheese Whiz Jalepeno without realizing it and almost burned her guest's throats! We used this to our advantage and since then have sometimes mixed in a small amount of the Jalepeno Whiz with the regular! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were gone in seconds. Even my non-crab eaters gobbled them up. So easy to make. It makes a lot so I froze 1/2 of them for an easy appetizer or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Super easy guests thought they were yummy. They asked "where" I bought them! I did add a dash of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These are super quick and easy to make, but no one who gobbles them up will believe how little effort went into the making. One tip that made my life easier - spread the cheese mixture onto the English muffin halves, and then use a pizza wheel to cut those halves into nibble-sized wedges. It's much easier than trying to spread the mixture onto little wedges. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I've tried this recipe. I altered it a bit because I do not like pepper, but it was to die for. Everyone absolutely loved it. The great part about it was how simple the preparation was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States