Crab and Swiss Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
I have made this quiche 6 or 8 times. It is delicious. At first I found that the store-bought frozen crust baked in the aluminum pie pan was often soggy or soft. The last time I made it I removed the still frozen crust from the cheapie pan and put it in my oven safe glass (Pyrex) pie pan. What a difference! Crispy and flakey. My Pyrex pan is a little bigger but during baking the crust molded to fit. Another tip for ultimate presentation: Just before baking place thinly sliced cheddar slivers in a starburst pattern in the center of the quiche. Sprinkle with a dry green herb like dill or thyme. Beautiful AND delicius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This was REALLY good!! I didn't have (or want to make) a crust, so I just didn't use one. Hubby liked it better this way, said "you can taste the crab better without it". I didn't think this was bland at all; the flavor of the crab really came through. I added a little salt, pepper and garlic powder, and used 3 eggs and Alpine Lace reduced fat swiss cheese and light mayo. (Prepared this way, it's only 4 points per serving in Weight Watchers.) Good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was really good, with the following changes: I added one egg, about 1/3 cup of green onion, about a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon pepper seasoning, and about 1/4 cup of white wine. I also used closer to 2 cups of cheese--a mix of cheddar, mozzarella, and swiss. With all the additions, my quiche had to bake for about 50 minutes. Without the additions, I don't think it would have been as tasty, nor would it have filled the pie shell adequately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This was WONDERFUL. My husband quit eating only when it was all gone. I added a package of chopped spinach (very well drained!!) to add some green to the meal. Served it with a fruit salad. Someone mentioned that this was runny...I would advise letting this set for 5 minutes after removing from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
The base for this quiche recipe is foolproof. I love the base because it uses ingredients that I always have on hand. I used jumbo lump crabmeat and Gruyere cheese and added 1/4 t kosher salt and pepper. I did, however, have to make an additional half a recipe of filling in order to fill the pie shell. No big deal though. I made the quiches the night before the baby shower I was hosting and then just warmed them in a 350 deg. oven for 15 minutes. Everyone raved aboout them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was excellent. My husband is a very picky eater, but for some reason he likes imitation crab. I did make the crust, i just like homemade pie crust. The only modification was that I added extra cheese. My husband ate half the pie and then asked for it again the next night:) It looks like this will be a staple in our house. ok so here is an update: I have made this many times since and do it a bit different now. I add half of an onion chopped finely as well as some cayenne pepper, and I use three eggs. Also i chop the crab because i don't like biting into huge chunks. I have also made it many times omitting the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
I made this this morning for our teacher breakfast, and it was gone in 15 minutes!!! I wish I would have made 2. So quick and easy, I will next time. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This was a great imitation crab meat recipie!!...I love imit. crab meat and with the swiss cheese, this quiche was very delicious and delicatly flavored, even the kids liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
MY HUSBAND AND I LOVED THIS RECEIPE!!!!IT WAS QUICK AND DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie S.
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This is a great recipe. Very easy to make and so delicious. Will make this again and again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States