Crab and Swiss Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
These were tasty but a little too cheesey for us. I added a dash of Ol'Bay seasoning and used only 6 oz of cream cheese and about 3 tablespoons of low fat mayo. I also used the fake Krab stuff and put it on my homemade bagette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Andrea Lyn
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Easy, and quite good. I imagine you could add whatever sounds good or whatever you have on hand, and use this as a base recipe. The hubby liked it and we both had seconds :D Plan on using a version of this to make a dip/topping for some Ritz crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
These were so very good! The kids argued over who got the last few melts, right down to splitting the last one in half. Some people said there was too much cream cheese for the amount of crab, so I just added more until I thought it was a good ratio (used fake crab). Also added green onions as others suggested. Didn't have Swiss, so used a pre-shredded pizza mix of cheeses and that was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
These were pretty good - I would recommend just reducing the cream cheese to about 3/4 of a package. I also added a couple of green onions just for color and about 1/8 teaspoon of Old Bay to draw out the flavour of the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade W
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Im not a big seafood kinda person but when its with cream cheese and cheese, Ill give it a try. We just so happened to have some Crab that needed to get boiled up and I am really glad that we did. They were very good and my husband loved them. I did add some garlic salt in addition, and did colby jack cheese instead of swiss, just cause i have never liked swiss. Thats just me :) I also did 6 thick slices of Italian bread because people had mentioned it was really rich. So this way my spread was a little thinner on my bread, and i thought it came out perfect. Also i used Franks Red Hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Amazing AND easy! Huge hit with my wife; I became an overnight Facebook sensation with her review. The only changes I made were I did not use the hot sauce; but DID use Old Bay. (I'm from Baltimore; and if you're making ANYTHING with crab then it MUST include Old Bay.) Didn't measure so I can't say how much I used; and when it comes to Old Bay it's all a matter of taste. I don't like the Old Bay to overpower the taste of the crab so I just used a few pinches; maybe 1/4 Tbl spoon? If you're new to cooking - as I am - this is a great way to get started and impress people with your mad chef-like skills!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sparrows Point, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Wow, this is sooooooooo good! Yes, it was a little rich but I suffered through it! I did reduce the cream cheese to 4 oz. and added about 2 T. miracle whip. I used sliced swiss cheese because that's what I had but I will use the grated next time. The sliced cheese was just too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
These were OK. We halved the cream cheese and added Miracle Whip, plus we used split English muffins instead of Italian bread. We tried half with sliced tomato and they were good. They were a little bland - definitely needed some minced green onion, both for color and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very rich. This is similar to a dish we had in Savannah, GA. We used both Italian bread and thin pita bread. We liked it a lot more with the pita bread. The recipe was good, it was just a little too rich for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This melt is ok, but has too much cream cheese and not enough flavor, even after adding a little garlic salt and onion salt. It was also too rich for a lunch or dinner; I would suggest serving on smaller pieces of toasted bread as an appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States