Crab and Shrimp Louis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
For those looking for "true" Louie dressing, try Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans. Be sure to read the comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I am from Northern CA, home of the dungeness crab. This recipe is right on! My mom always made her dressing with mayo, relish and ketchup. I will try the chili sauce. It should spice it up a bit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
Made with bottled thousand island dressing for the sake of quickness. Very good. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I am sure this is a good seafood salad --- but is not a "Louis" salad. Try using an authentic Louis dressing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Very good! Did not have crab on hand, so used only shrimp. The Thousand Island dressing was excellent. I used to make it with ketchup and now that you have turned me on to using Chile Sauce (YUM), I will never use ketchup again. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
As a native Californian, I've never seen or heard of a 'true louie' dressing (not to say it doesn't exist). Every restaurant I've ordered this in has had thousand island and that's what I make it with at home. The only thing I really do differently is that I boil the eggs ahead of time and refrigerate them when I make this. I like them much better cold when eating them on salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Definitely five stars for the ingredients in the salad. Colorful and a nice blend of textures and flavors. I used chopped Romaine and Alaskan King Crab, and prepared this as a stacked salad. The dressing is just acceptable; nothing to either love or hate about it. It was a good starting point but needed lift and character - three stars, average. Taking both the salad ingredients and the dressing into consideration, this was a four star salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Definitely chill the hard boiled eggs prior to serving on the salad.Because of personal preferences, I usedf Romaine lettuce and more crab and shrimp.Because of this I increased the measurements on the dressing. The dressing is excellent, Scotty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Delicious! Love the dressing. Scotty - thanks for sharing such a rockin recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumsy'sCouchPotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
We had lots of Dungeness crab given to us by a friend, so a crab louis salad was in order (didn't use shrimp). Used red onion (rather than green), and romaine rather than iceberg lettuce, & tomatoes-on-the-vine rather than cherry due to all of these were what I had on hand. The dressing is different and good! Thanks for the recipe, Scotty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Ceviche

See how to make a simple ceviche with imitation crab meat.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States