Crab and Shrimp Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
Horrible! The noodles were not cooked, and the taste was horrendous. I wouldn't even know where to begin to save this one. We had to throw and entire 13 X 9 dish of it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
When I taste tested the recipe after the first 35 mins, I was in heaven!! Rich sauce, hearty pieces of seafood... But when I added the french fried onions, it changed the entire flavor of the dish. It was awful! I actually threw it out. The casserole suddenly took on a burnt taste from the onions. I will make it again but eliminate the onions and only cook the dish for the original 35 minutes... then it will earn 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This definitely had Red Lobster type restaurant potential. I used some leftover medium sized boiled, peeled cocktail shrimp I had instead of salad shrimp. No crab. (I had none). I did use the cream of shrimp soup and added about 1 tsp. of minced garlic and about 2 Tbsp. of dry sherry. This was just the right flavor zing without seeming to be a Scampi wannabe. I used extra sharp cheddar and accidentally mixed it in with the soup, shrimp and mayo mixture before I realized it was supposed to be on top. No problem though, I’d make it again that way. No angel hair, so I used a small thin egg noodle that would absorb the liquid quickly. This worked out well but I did take care to submerge the noodles as much as possible. Just the right delicate flavor and the bigger shrimp made for an expensive looking dish. This would be elegant for a dinner party and it would be really restaurant special if baked and served in individual ramekins instead of casserole style. I’d make this again. Leftovers are great too if warmed up gently in the microwave. I did serve asparagus with this, perfect combo! Some of those Red Lobster type homemade cheddar biscuit clones would be fabulous with it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Boy, is this delicious! I didn't think canned soup could taste so good. I took Janie12's advice and added some Old Bay and garlic. I didn't add crab(didn't have). I also didn't have shrimp soup and subbed cr of mushroom instead. The addition of 1 - 2 tablespoons of cooking sherry gave this a restaurant quality taste. I also added one soup can of milk instead of just one cup. I will make this again, although not often because it is so rich. Thanks so much for the post Marilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
very good! I used orzo pasta instead of angel hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Allendale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This was awsome! My husband said it could have easily passed as a Red Lobster dish! I put all the ingredients in a crock-pot on low for 3 hours, then served over angel hair pasta. I also added some minced garlic to the recipe. **TWO THUMBS UP!**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
Well to start off, I was one of those women that thought you had to rate the recipe "as is" or it would'nt be fair. Now that I tried this recipe, using ideas from other raters, I think its fine to rate it accordingly. After all if the recipe had not of been submitted there would not of been one to adjust to individual tastes, so here goes: this is how I made this recipe and it turned out delicious. First of all I could not find cream of shrimp soup, so I used someones suggestion to use cream of mushroom. Next, I dont like canned cocktail shrimp so I used 1 lb. of raw shrimp (I did not cook the shrimp before adding it to the mix.) I did use a can of crab meat. After I started making the recipe I realized that I barely had any mayonaise, so I improvised. I used equal amounts of mayonaise, tarter sauce, and ranch dressing to make a cup. Again, Using someones else's idea I used one a half cups of milk. I also borrowed someones else's idea and added one tablespoon of old bay seasoning, garlic powder, and pepper. I followed the rest of the recipe as printed. My husband does not like fish, nor does he like shrimp linguine, but he absolutely loved this recipe!! So even though I'm rating this according to the changes that I made, I still credit the one that submitted the recipe in the first place! THUMBS UP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This was really good! I made it a couple of months ago and I'm craving it again. I couldn't find cream of shrimp soup so I used a can of shrimp bisque (which added considerably to the cost of the recipe) and it turned out fine. I'm going to use less mayonnaise next time since my husband didn't like the mayo taste, although I did! I would also make sure that all the noodles are mixed thoroughly into the liquid - otherwise you could get some uncooked noodles around the edges. Wonderful, elegant and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This was absolutely delicious and really easy to make. I think it actually tastes better when you reheat the leftovers the next day, which is saying a lot in a family that doesn't like leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
This was a wonderful seafood recipe I made for company last weekend. They raved over it. I did use the suggestion to use Orzo pasta and it turned our great. I also added the extra milk and cut down of the mayonaise. To spice it up, I added garlic powder, minced onion and parsley to the mixture. We also added parmesan cheese to the top after taking the foil off and broiled it for about 3 minutes. It was a big crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Alfredo sauce gets a kick with cayenne pepper, cheese, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States