Crab Wonton Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Although I did like the crunch the water chestnut added, I was not crazy about the filling. The combination of the mayonnaise and the swiss cheese made the filling greasy and heavy. I won't be making this again - I personally think the cream cheese/crab wonton fillings are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I left out the curry, added some Cajun seasoning, and doubled the ginger. I used 1/3 cup of mayo instead of 1/2 a cup, and I used light mayo. I also used fake crab. It's great that they're baked and not fried! This recipe gets a 4 instead of a 5 only because of long it takes to put it all together. Definitely worth it, but not something I could do too regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Excellent - I used just a hint of curry as a lot of people don't like it. I finely diced water chestnuts and added to mix. I didn't trim corners off and it gave guests somthing to hang on to while eating. Watch baking tho - corners can brown very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I make these appetizers without the curry powder and water chestnuts. I substitute the wontons for pre-baked phyllo cups (found in the frozen section). I fill the phyllo cups with the mixture and bake on a baking sheet. I usually need to double or triple the recipe because it is the most popular appetizer at my parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I think this would have turned out A LOT better if I haven't spilt the salt in the mixture. However, my family did eat all of the wontons. I may give this recipe another try when I get the craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Will definitely use this recipe again. I didn't have water chestnuts or curry powder so I added extra green onions and I used cajun seasoning. They were really good. I doubled the amount of cajun seasoning and lemon juice that the recipe called for based on bland reviews. It still could have used more. The mayo was a little overpowering. Very festive and easy though so it was worth five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I followed the recipe to a tee, but found that something just didn't taste right-- I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of sugar (I find that canned crab lacks the sweetness that fresh seafood usually has) and that made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
It was good, but we had a hard time stuffing the wontons so we ended up dipping it in the left over filling. Good still but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Hudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These were very good. I used canned chicken instead of crab and added a little extra curry. I didn't trim the wonton skins. I just pinched the tops of them. The water chestnuts add a great crunch to these wontons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
These were good and very easy to prepare, but I feel like something is missing. They are a little plain for my taste. Maybe more curry and/or lemon juice? Any suggestions are welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States