Crab Wonton Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I left out the curry, added some Cajun seasoning, and doubled the ginger. I used 1/3 cup of mayo instead of 1/2 a cup, and I used light mayo. I also used fake crab. It's great that they're baked and not fried! This recipe gets a 4 instead of a 5 only because of long it takes to put it all together. Definitely worth it, but not something I could do too regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Excellent - I used just a hint of curry as a lot of people don't like it. I finely diced water chestnuts and added to mix. I didn't trim corners off and it gave guests somthing to hang on to while eating. Watch baking tho - corners can brown very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I make these appetizers without the curry powder and water chestnuts. I substitute the wontons for pre-baked phyllo cups (found in the frozen section). I fill the phyllo cups with the mixture and bake on a baking sheet. I usually need to double or triple the recipe because it is the most popular appetizer at my parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I think this would have turned out A LOT better if I haven't spilt the salt in the mixture. However, my family did eat all of the wontons. I may give this recipe another try when I get the craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Will definitely use this recipe again. I didn't have water chestnuts or curry powder so I added extra green onions and I used cajun seasoning. They were really good. I doubled the amount of cajun seasoning and lemon juice that the recipe called for based on bland reviews. It still could have used more. The mayo was a little overpowering. Very festive and easy though so it was worth five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I followed the recipe to a tee, but found that something just didn't taste right-- I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of sugar (I find that canned crab lacks the sweetness that fresh seafood usually has) and that made a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
It was good, but we had a hard time stuffing the wontons so we ended up dipping it in the left over filling. Good still but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These were very good. I used canned chicken instead of crab and added a little extra curry. I didn't trim the wonton skins. I just pinched the tops of them. The water chestnuts add a great crunch to these wontons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
These were good and very easy to prepare, but I feel like something is missing. They are a little plain for my taste. Maybe more curry and/or lemon juice? Any suggestions are welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
These are really good. I left the water chestnuts off several because my daughter doesn't like them but I think the crunch in contrast to the soft filling is a must. I mixed ingredients the day before and quickly assembled after guests arrived. This worked extremely well and will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States