Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe this evening and I got thumbs up, all around! It was absolutely delicious, and contrary to the many comments about it being too time consuming, I had it on the table in less than an hour, from start to finish. I served it with whipped potatoes and steamed asparagus and Cherries Jubliee for dessert! Definitely making this again! I give it 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I made this for my wife on Mother's Day as her dinner, and have made it two more times since, ha! She loves it, I think it's fantastic, and we don't often always see eye to out relative to our palates. The only difference I made is that we did not use the whiskey peppercorn sauce. I did a red wine and balsamic vineagerette reduction to go over the steaks with much success. I would highly, highly recommend fresh crab meat, do not use the canned stuff. It tastes 100X better with fresh lump crab. Great dinner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
as a second option add Dijon mustard to taste along with fresh sliced mushrooms,add mushrooms just prior to service,the residual heat will cook the mushrooms perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Obviously it's a special occasion only kind of dish, but it was so very worth the work. That sauce was one of the best things I've ever tasted. I didn't change a thing, nor would I. This is a delicious, elegant meal, perfect for an anniversary or the birthday of someone you REALLY love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this last night for my grandmas retirement dinner, and let me just say it turned out amazing!!!! The filets that I had were so big, I had to use 2 pieces of bacon to wrap each one. I used cherry wood bacon which had an awesome taste. The steaks I had were about 2 inches thick, so I had plenty of room to stuff crab in them. As far as cooking them, I didn't use a pan. I first put them in the oven on 380° for about 10 minutes. Just enough to get a nice brown on the outside. I set them to the side for a little bit, so I could finish my parmesan risotto and grilled asparagus with a balsamic glaze. After that, I put the steaks on the grill for about 5-10 minutes. By the time they were done, they were nice and red on the inside. They were a beautiful medium rare. Would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I used rum instead of whisky for taste preference, so this likely could have been a 4 star recipe if I had used the whisky instead (taste might have become palatable with cooking - who knows?) It was quite tasty overall, but not as good as I was expecting. With all the work involved, I probably won't make this recipe again. Perhaps some alterations, such adding the mustard right at the end to keep the flavour sharp, or making a sauce with lump crab meat and serving it on top of steak. And more flavour in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I have made this several times and still get excited making it. This is the best steak I have ever had!!! That cream sauce is killer and adding a crab stuffed steak....really what more can you ask for. DON'T CHANGE A THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Amazing, it even tasted good with the $5 fillets in a package from Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Absolutely Amazing! I used pretty big sized filets (toward the .85-1 mark) so I definitely doubled the crab filling (even though I only made two steaks) Also- I forgot to add the dijon mayo at the end, and it still turned out great! This is time consuming, so set aside about 2-230 hours to get everything ready (veggies, potato, etc)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I made this recipe a few times and each time I make it it gets better and better!! I just made this on Sunday night for dinner and it was soooooo delicious. I am going to try it with lobster the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCorteo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States