Crab-Stuffed Filet Mignon with Whiskey Peppercorn Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christian
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is because of the all the prep. There is ALOT of prep before hand. When we made it, we used Knob Creek whiskey which added that wonderful flavor to it. After everything was made and put together, it was kind of messy to eat. Definitely will take another go at this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This is time consuming but worth every minute!! It's wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I cook my filets in the pan, then broil then for about 10 minutes, depending on thickness. I also use about a cup or so of whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Pye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Fabulous. Made it for a gourmet dinner and everyone raved about it. Steak melted in our mouths. Our expectations were high and it surpassed everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Tried this recipe this evening and I got thumbs up, all around! It was absolutely delicious, and contrary to the many comments about it being too time consuming, I had it on the table in less than an hour, from start to finish. I served it with whipped potatoes and steamed asparagus and Cherries Jubliee for dessert! Definitely making this again! I give it 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
as a second option add Dijon mustard to taste along with fresh sliced mushrooms,add mushrooms just prior to service,the residual heat will cook the mushrooms perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Rote Jr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Obviously it's a special occasion only kind of dish, but it was so very worth the work. That sauce was one of the best things I've ever tasted. I didn't change a thing, nor would I. This is a delicious, elegant meal, perfect for an anniversary or the birthday of someone you REALLY love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this last night for my grandmas retirement dinner, and let me just say it turned out amazing!!!! The filets that I had were so big, I had to use 2 pieces of bacon to wrap each one. I used cherry wood bacon which had an awesome taste. The steaks I had were about 2 inches thick, so I had plenty of room to stuff crab in them. As far as cooking them, I didn't use a pan. I first put them in the oven on 380° for about 10 minutes. Just enough to get a nice brown on the outside. I set them to the side for a little bit, so I could finish my parmesan risotto and grilled asparagus with a balsamic glaze. After that, I put the steaks on the grill for about 5-10 minutes. By the time they were done, they were nice and red on the inside. They were a beautiful medium rare. Would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jose Hugo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I used rum instead of whisky for taste preference, so this likely could have been a 4 star recipe if I had used the whisky instead (taste might have become palatable with cooking - who knows?) It was quite tasty overall, but not as good as I was expecting. With all the work involved, I probably won't make this recipe again. Perhaps some alterations, such adding the mustard right at the end to keep the flavour sharp, or making a sauce with lump crab meat and serving it on top of steak. And more flavour in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States