Crab Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MARYMAYBE
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
My thanks to the writer of this recipe. If I could re-write this I would call it "Stuffed Cajun Sea Chicken" but I want to give credit where credit is due and that is to the idea itself, as with many recipes that are like an artist's canvas. I did make numerous changes. I used fresh crab instead of canned. I added garlic to both sauce and stuffing. I used seasoned bread crumbs. I added minced onion and fresh minced mushrooms to sauce and fresh sliced mushrooms in stuffing which i sauted with the onions and butter. I used Wondra instead of flour. I used Old bay instead of paprika and I used creole seaoning in sauce as well as sprinkled on top before serving. I cut split in side of breast and stuffed instead of pounding and rolling and I cooked for 45 minutes and then an additional 10 uncovered with cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYMAYBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Very good! I made several alterations however....I used clam juice leftover from another recipe instead of chicken broth, seasoned bread crumbs for the saltines, I slit pockets instead of pounding & rolling, used half & half for milk, used Old Bay seasoning instead of salt & upped it to a full tsp., & increased the baking time to 50 minutes since the breast were so much thicker. They looked good enough for company & tasted even more impressive. I served them w/ boiled baby yukon potatoes & a fresh salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This review will be a great example of how it's all about taste buds. I thought this a very average dish, and would rate it three stars. Hubs, on the other hand, said it was darn near a five star dish. The chicken breasts I used were small, so I just pounded them out a bit, spread a double amount of the crab mixture over them and didn't bother to roll them up. I seasoned the chicken first with salt and pepper. I added some extra melted butter and shredded Swiss to the crab mixture, as well as a few tablespoons of finely chopped green and orange bell pepper. I also used fresh mushrooms, chopped, rather than the canned. I skipped the step of heating the mixture through--its stint in the oven takes care of that. To the white sauce I added some white wine, then followed the baking directions as written and came up with beautifully cooked, moist and tender chicken--didn't even need a knife. While I found this short on flavor, hubs said he appreciated the subtleness of flavor. Very reminiscent of Chicken a la King. With our different taste buds and assessments, I arrived at a compromise of four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Great recipe! I also added a couple of cloves of garlic to the onion and used bread crumbs instead of saltines. I added some spice to the white sauce but didn't notice a huge difference. I substituted Old Bay for paprika and used a different white cheese. My husband said to make it anytime. We loved it! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
YUM! This recipe is awesome. It tastes so good and is easy to prepare. I am going to make this a meal that I make often. I used the imitation crab that is frozen and is a great price rather then spending a lot of money since crab has a mellow taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I substituted the mushrooms for red and green bell peppers that I sauted with the onions. It was a nice touch. I also added a little Old Bay seasoning to the crab mixture; it tasted like a crab cake stuffed chicken breast. Thanks for sharing. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
This made me a star for the night! It was wonderful and will definitely make this again in the future. Timesaving hint: use one can of cream of chicken soup for the sauce and add milk to thin it since it thickens while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
this was fantastic!! i altered mine a bit from the recipe however. i chopped shrimp instead of crabmeat along with parsley, mushrooms, and green and red peppers in a processor, and i stuffed the mixture along with the onions, and breadcrumbs into slits in the tops of the breasts. i also smeared the rest of the breast with the mixture, and covered with parmesean cheese, instead of swiss - i highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Followed the recipe exactly, WONDERFUL! 5 STAR! It's a keeper, whole family loved it, my husband thought is was fabulous, and my 8 year old and 3 year old enjoyed as well. Has some stuffing left over, sprinkled a little swiss cheese in it and served it with crackers as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was really good! I made it for Valentine's Day and my husband really liked it. I made two chicken breasts and used the extra crab mixture to make stuffed mushrooms! Would definetely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States