Crab Stuffed Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe, especially since I cook for a man eats only meat, bread, and dairy. I did make quite a few alterations though. I used imataion lobster meat that I think tastes quite good. I left out the mushrooms. No veggies allowed. I used green onions sauted with fresh garlic and squirted in a little lemon juice. I left out the cracker crumbs because I find they end up sougy and bland. I also lighty breaded the outside of the chicken with the bread crumb, flour, and lemon pepper and fried the breast before a quick bake. The white sauce essentialy turned out to be butter for me. The man loved it and it was quick and easy to make. It was very rich with all the butter though. I would make it again, maybe with less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This recipe is sooooo good. my sister (the picky eater) asks for it all the time. I only make it for special events because it is alot of work and dishes, but its worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is a much easier and just as tasty version. I made the white sauce as directed, added salt and pepper to it , then instead of rolling the chicken I cut them into portions, added salt, pepper,galic powder and a little thyme to the pieces on both sides. Put the mushrooms and I used green onions on top of the chicken and poured the sauce over top. Baked for 20-25 minutes,then stirred in the crab, and put the cheese on top, and baked until cheese melted. Much easier and even less calories without the crackers. Served over rice.We all thought it was excellent. Next time I may even brown the chicken first to add some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was really, really good. I did make some changes, though. To start - I sauteed finely chopped onion and celery in butter with a little white wine. Once tender I added the crab, ritz cracker crumbs, fresh parsley, s&p, old bay and some finely chopped fresh mushrooms. Set aside. Used the same pan to make the sauce - I did use chicken stock, but also white wine and half and half. Added old bay, red pepper flakes. Split the chicken breasts, stuffed and then used the remaining stuffing to make stuffed mushrooms - AMAZING. Thanks for the great inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
The white sauce in this recipe is great! I am going to use it as my new base sauce for gravies and such! This sauce is perfect because you can adjust the spices and try new flavors with it. I added minced garlic, and various other spices. It is delicious with the crab-stuffed chicken, and I am excited to try it with several different dishes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecki7
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I put in diced itialian tomatoes instead of mushrooms (only because that is what I had) and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as directed and it was ok. I will definitely make it again with some of the following changes: fresh mushrooms, herbs that will make it memorable, and cheese inside and on top of the chicken (I’m a cheese lover). It is fast, easy, and fun to make! Thank you for the recipe Christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Ostlund

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This is pretty good however, a little rich. I used real crab not the fake stuff cause its kinda rubbery. But overall, a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daisy8208

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This review will be a great example of how it's all about taste buds. I thought this a very average dish, and would rate it three stars. Hubs, on the other hand, said it was darn near a five star dish. The chicken breasts I used were small, so I just pounded them out a bit, spread a double amount of the crab mixture over them and didn't bother to roll them up. I seasoned the chicken first with salt and pepper. I added some extra melted butter and shredded Swiss to the crab mixture, as well as a few tablespoons of finely chopped green and orange bell pepper. I also used fresh mushrooms, chopped, rather than the canned. I skipped the step of heating the mixture through--its stint in the oven takes care of that. To the white sauce I added some white wine, then followed the baking directions as written and came up with beautifully cooked, moist and tender chicken--didn't even need a knife. While I found this short on flavor, hubs said he appreciated the subtleness of flavor. Very reminiscent of Chicken a la King. With our different taste buds and assessments, I arrived at a compromise of four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States