Crab Spread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a nice appetizer recipe, one I've made for some time with only 2 differences. 1st, I always cut my cream cheese with a small amount of sour cream. Not much because you don't want your base runny - just enough to make it easier to spread on crackers and then I form it on a platter. I've shaped it in the past to reflect the theme of the day - like a christmas tree for example. The only other modification is that I also add a can of tiny, drained shrimp (right next to the canned crab in the grocery) - mix the crab and shrimp together in the same bowl used to mix the cream cheese and sour cream (just that small amount of cream cheese that remains on the sides of the bowl mixes with the shrimp and crab and makes it easier to pat onto the outside of the cream cheese base). This is such a cinch to throw together and always goes over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Simple and easy. I followed others and put the crab on top of the sauce but think next time I will try to mix the cream cheese and crab together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
The cocktail sauce overwhelmed the flavor of the crab. I used less than half of what the recipe called for. The recipe would be good for fake crab, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Unbelievably delicious! I did it backwards - covered the cream cheese with cocktail sauce and then topped with crab meat. This is much better with homemade cocktail sauce (ketchup, horseradish, lemon juice). I serve with Triscuits or Wheat Thins. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very good! Took it to a get together and everyone liked it. This recipe makes quite a bit. If I made it in the future I might cut the miracle whip in half and scale it down a bit. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
Great, I haven't had this in years, glad I found again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I make this all the time and its a great hit. I use the imitation crab meat sold in the refrigerator section. I grate the crab meat up in a food processor and then mix in the cream cheese well, then I pour the cocktail sauce over. It turns out great everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
One of my all time favorite appetizers!! Just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
i make this all of the time! my kids love it. I put the chopped crab meat on top of the cocktail sauce though! it's prettier that way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wellsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
This is always a big hit when I make it. I have found that using the whipped cream cheese in the tub gives it a nice consistency. I've also tried using the non-whipped, tub style for some added flavor. The onion and chive is especially good, but I like to whip it with my electric mixer first to make the consistency a little lighter and easier to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States