Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Very tasty and simple to make. I did not add the chopped celery (didn't have) or sugar (feared it would make it too sweet). I used 8 ounces imitation crab that I minced in the food processor. I also added 1 small can tiny shrimp that I stirred into the mixture at the end. I used the mixture to spread onto tortillas and rolled them up jelly-roll fashion. Let chill over night before I sliced and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
YUMMY DELI-STYLE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is a tough one to rate... the recipe has potential, but it just wasn't exactly what I look for in a crab salad. First of all, I scaled it down to 1 serving because I'm the only one in the house who likes crab salad. Be advised, the serving sizes are HUGE. I ended up with enough salad to serve at least 3 people quite generously. I cut the sugar down to less than a teaspoon and it was still too sweet for me. I doubled the parsley and almost tripled the mayonnaise to have enough to coat everything. The end result was tasty enough, but as is, this recipe is only worth 3 stars in my book. Thanks, but I'll keep looking for a winning crab salad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I was looking for a seafood pasta salad, so at first I was going to add some shell pasta. It doesn't need it. I used imitation crab and left it really chunky and it wound up being alot. I'm glad I didn't add the pasta because we would have been eating this forever. Overall very good and worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by key151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Made this following the recipe to the best of my ability. I added additional dressing (mayo and seasonings) because the amount called for didn't begin to cover the amount of crab and celery. I like this OK but most of the taste is celery and spices. Crab kinda gets lost. I'm glad I tried this recipe and may make it again; just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I used 1/2 pound of fresh king crab legs & scaled it down to 1 serving size recipe based on the website (which actually feeds more like 2 people) when topped on good crackers. Followed other reviewers; omitted celery seed, added chopped onions, green onions & lemon juice to freshen up the crab meat. Added a dash of cayenne pepper for a more lingering spice level. Overall great, refreshing crab salad & would serve it at a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Pretty good. I didn't have any celery seed on hand and I used fat-free plain yogurt (for the mayo) and splenda (for the sugar). Tasted good with fat free saltines for a healthy snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I made this this morning and my boyfriend just tasted it and said it has a great taste. I would easily give it 5 stars by my own but he is so picky and loved it. Thank you for this Great Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMASPICE
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is excellent! I used imitation crab, (light) Miracle Whip, Splenda and celery salt. My son requested a bit of lemon, green onion and some Pampered Chef Dill Mix. You really should make this a day in advance so the flavors have time to get happy together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I used this recipe as the base for my first attempt at crab salad and it turned out fantastic. It's a drier salad, so adjust accordingly. Changes I made: out of c. seed--used a bit of c. salt instead; added part of a green onion, diced--it really permeates the salad; added bacon; added a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States