Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I love to bring this to gatherings, people always ask how to make it. Instead of adding old bay seasoning and celery seed sometimes I like to add chives and a couple tbs of white onion. The real key to this recipe is the sugar. It tastes great just on crackers, or in a pasta salad. I have even used it instead of tuna in serving sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was so so good. I used light "real" mayo and scaled this down for just hubby and myself. This reminds me of the seafood sandwich you could get a Subway a few years ago. You can eat this as a sandwich or as a dip. A keeper for sure. Ate the leftovers today, even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was ok...I think next time I will add cubed or shredded sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Thanks for this delicious recipe. I used 2 Tablespoons fresh parsley from our garden, used less sugar as another reviewer suggested, and otherwise followed the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I had set out to cut this recipe in half, thinking I had about 1 lb. of crab meat. That was before I realized my daughter helped herself to much of the crab meat. Given that I only had less than 1 lb., I just eyeballed all the ingredients rather than measuring. Having said and done all that....this was fantastic! Close to the crab salad served at our local Golden Corral, only better. This has great flavors happening. Definitely recommend preparing this a day ahead of when you want to serve it, so the flavors have time to get acquainted. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Meh. Nothing special, IMHO. Rather than eating the SAME boring frozen entrees for lunch again this week, I opted to try something new. While this wasn't "awful," it wasn't an instant "favorite" either. I found this to be a quite bland, somewhat dry (I had to add an extra T or so of mayo to my salad in order to achieve the creamy texture I was looking for) and calling for WAY too much celery. I halved everything (just feeding myself), but recommend keeping the spice amounts as is, at least everything but the pepper.... I thought allowing the flavors to meld in the fridge until dinnertime would improve this, but no such luck. :( NOTE: I ended up using shredded imitation crab (that's what my grocer's deli uses in their "salad"). For the purpose it's intended to serve, fresh crab is just too pricey! Served on a croissant with iceberg lettuce and chips on the side, this certainly satisfied my appetite, but wasn't as enjoyable as I had hoped. Too bad. I'd like to have made this again, but wrapped in lettuce leaves or stuffed in cold pasta shells. Thanks anyways, Christine! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Good. I did add way more seasonings than it called for because I found it bland. Tripled the old bay. Doubled the celery seeds. Used some seasoned mayo too. (mixed garlic mayo and chipotle)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
My kids and I loved it! I omitted the sugar and added garlic powder. I want to try it with some finely chopped red onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
We doubled this recipe and served it as one of our cocktail wedding reception / housewarming party appetizers. It went over really well and looked great in a pedestal bowl on a platter of crackers. Sprinkled with chopped green onion to dress it up a bit. (Almost forgot! We used 1/2 real crab meat and 1/2 fake and it was still good and cost less!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
i stuck with the recipe except for the celery -- i didnt have any -- but my family and i really enjoyed this-- i'll be adding this to my favs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Lucas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States