Crab Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
I used fresh crab in this recipe. I omitted the olives and radishes, and used celery, whole grape tomatoes and green pepper. I also used green onion in place of the regular sweet or white onion. I made this for guests and it was a HUGE hit! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Very tasty and easy to put together. MUCH better the next day. As a matter of fact, I thought it was tasteless the first day and nearly threw it in the garbage! I was glad I didn't after pulling it out on day two and trying it again after the flavors had had a chance to blend. I used a larger package of imitation crab meat, green onions instead of white, omitted the tomato, subbed red bell pepper for radishes, and as another reviewer suggested, I used rice vinegar in place of the vinegar/lemon juice combo. I also added about a half tsp of sugar. Yummy on day two! Let it blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I took the suggestion of using rice vinegar instead of the lemon juice and white vinegar...red bell pepper instead of radishes and tomatoes...used helmans mayonaise... added some shrimp...used real crabmeat and sprinkled parmesean cheese on top it was a knock out at home and for the office gathering shared the recipe with four other people.....wonderful. I got one reply saying that she thought she was eating at a 5 star restaurant. excellent recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This crab salad is wonderful! I did leave out the radishes, green pepper and the olives and opted for green onions instead of regular onions and also used shredded carrots. I also used a pinch of sugar instead of the sugar substitute. This was a hit with my family and a definite keeper! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I doubled the recipe but maybe shouldn't have doubled the spices. Was way too much dill weed. BF didn't like it at all. I had to try and fix it up the next day because it was too powerful. Next time I will not double to the recipe, and put less dill weed and hope it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I think this is one of the best crab salads I have made, and my family agrees. I substituted carrots for radishes and used low fat mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
AMAZING! I didn’t have radish, celery, olives or dill weed and it STILL turned out great, so you can improvise if you don’t have everything at hand! As others said it was a great hit, and I'll definitely be doubling quantity next time! I halved the amount of onions though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
All I can say is WOW, this is a fantastic recipe! I did take some liberty; I omitted the radishes (seemed odd for this recipe) and added some chopped red pepper along with the green. I also threw in some chopped cooked shrimp, and used old bay instead of dill, and sugar instead of artificial. Don’t expect any leftovers if you take this to a picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This was the first recipe that my fiance and I cooked together and I'm glad I chose this one. All the different flavors combined are so yummy! I made a few changes as well. I used orange peppers instead of radishes, used halved grape tomatoes instead of a chopped up whole one (big difference I think), didn't use the lemon juice, used Campanelle pasta, used dill seed instead of weed, and added a couple extra plops of mayo. Oh - and used green onions instead of the sweet ones. I'm sure I'll be using this recipe for years to come. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodouluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
How simple, and delicious! I enjoyed making this as much as I enjoyed eating it! -- Seriously though, I was looking for a crab salad recipie and this one turned out great. As with most others, I too made some substitutions, Shredded carrots instead of radishes (adds nice orange color), home grown PEELED cherry tomatmoes, and I also added some green onion for color. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States