Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I've made this recipe (or a variant) nearly half a dozen times for house parties, and every time I make it I tweak it a little bit because the flavor isn't quite there. This time I think I've nailed it: I add about 3T of mayo to increase the creamy consistency, substitute sweet onion for green, reduce worcestershire to about 1/2t and increase soy to about 1t. I also add 1/2t of lemon juice, 2T of grated parmesan, and 1/2t of white sugar. I grease a muffin pan and add the mixture to the center of the wonton wrapper. I then fold up all four corners to the center and pinch off, then place in the muffin tins and bake as directed. It looks a little different, as you can see the filling inside of the openings of the wonton "cups", but that means it can hold more dipping sauce (sweet & sour)! I suppose with all these changes I should just submit a new recipe, but so far this has been the best base for crab rangoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
386 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d.anna.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These turned out great, but just a little bland. So the next time I added 2 sticks of chopped up celery and lots of sugar. When the sugar melts it really makes a differance in the flavor. I also used fake meat, much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good, I always order these when I eat Chinese. I do prefer them deep fried because it just gives them a little extra crunch. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love this recipe. I changed it a little for my taste but it was great. I used a 1/4t of garlic powder b/c I didn't feel like chopping garlic. I also added 2t of milk, 1t of parsley, and a 1/4t of sugar. The sugar is important. It adds that sweetness you find in restaurant rangoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I used this filling for stuffed mushrooms with very good results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
this is a great recipe for the fact that it has the basic ingredients you need. however, i found it to taste too fishy. i tried it out by only filling and frying one at first to make sure i liked it before i spent time doing the whole batch. it was ok, but too fishy tasting for my liking. this one restaurant that i get them from - they are so sweet and that's what i wanted. So, I added an extra package and a half of cream cheese, a few tablespoons lemon juice, and a couple spoonfuls of sugar. And it was EXCELLENT. So I'm giving it 4 stars because while it's good, it's not GREAT... Everyone has different taste preferences though, I just prefer it to be sweeter rather than fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These turned out great! Make sure you have a dipping sauce if you like the rangoons a little on the sweet side. Or like another reviewer, add a little sugar. Otherwise, they are great. Oven makes them crispy and not greasy like regular takeout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Not sure how I screwed these up but they were horrible!!! Fishy, garlicky and that's the only flavors I could get out of it. Blech!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Delicious recipe, howver I could not find wonton wrappers and wasn't excited about making my own, so we put the crab mixture on slices of toasted french bread with melted monterrey cheese - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I loved this dish, I added 2 tbls of powdered sugar and used imitation crab, I also fried them and they turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cecil, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States