Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Very good, and adaptable to different preferences. Make these changes for more of a "Chinese takeout" flavor: - double the cream cheese - decrease the crab by half - omit the water chestnuts - add 2 Tbsp chopped green onions - add 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce I omitted the water chestnuts the second time I made these, since it is not traditionally part of crab rangoon, and the crunch threw me off a bit. Try mixing up a batch, then frying one rangoon and adjusting the filling ingredients before you make the rest. You'll be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbaby

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Simple is best when it comes to crab rangoons which is why this is one of the best recipes for it on this site. The only thing I did not like is 2 cans of crab is too much. I only used one and I found it to be a perfect balance of crab and cream cheese. I also left out the water chestnuts (don't like em), and added green oinions and probably 1 1/2 teaspoons of soy sauce for a little asian flavor. This recipe yielded me about 20 rangoons and I had to stop myself from eating them all. This would be a great dish to double and take to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
The wonton wrappers that I used made the breading so thin and even more crispy and decadent than ones that I get at my local Chinese joint. I made a few changes, the first change was adding green onion, since I already had some on hand, and it sounded like a great suggestion from past reviewers. The other change I made was doubling the cream cheese. It was an accident, but oddly enough, recommended by past reviewers. They just turned out wonderful! I'm hooked, and they are almost better than restaurant ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariusvamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good, even though I'm really bad at making them... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great! No questions asked, all except for the water chesnuts. Totally not needed. Imitation crab meat works just great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
These were so good! I made my own wonton wrappers, and I baked them at 375 for 15min until they just started getting browned. I sprayed them with olive oil cooking spray before putting in the oven. The filling was so tasty, my son & I really loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it's PERFECT! It made a lot of filling, so be prepared to fill around 20+ little wontons. Don't be greedy when filling either, or else they will ooze when frying/baking. This recipe was perfect, delicious, and exactly like restaurant quality! You don't want to pass this recipe up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I made these for a group of teenagers and they absolutely loved them! I also left out the water chestnuts. This is definitely a recipe worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Granite State Granny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I only used one can of crab, added about 2 tsp of soy sauce, a pinch of sugar, and instead of water chestnuts I used onion. This was so delicious! I will make this one again many times I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Delicious. It takes awhile to fold them so I'd do it a little bit in advance and cover with a wet paper towel in the meanwhile. Also, as far as dipping: sweet and sour dipping sauce was by far the best one I tried, followed by Chinese mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States