Crab Rangoon III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used only one can of crab and it came out like restaurant style. I also didn't use water chestnuts...never had them with water chestnuts. My husband liked them. I used peanut oil for frying and had no issues. I wet the wrappers on the edges to seal and had no issues with them opening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe got such good reviews and Ive always wanted to try making these but with adjustments they turned out awful! I used imitation crab meat which just didn't taste right and I also baked them but the texture of the wonton wrapper was not good at all. Overall I think I'll use actual real crab meat and fry them next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Crab Ragoon is my favorite chinese item! This was so delicious! now i can make crab ragoon all day every dayy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these for a New Years Eve Party, 2011-2012. There wasn't one left over. Modifications: 2 Packages of Philadelphia Cream Cheese. 1 Can of fancy crab meat, throughly drained. 3 Diced scallions. No water chestnuts. Combined mixture with a hand blender. Baked for approximately 10 minutes, 5 minutes on each side vs. fried. This made over 50 crab rangoon's plus extra filling left over. They turned out very creamy, with a subtle hint of crab taste. If you prefer a stronger crab taste, I would use 1 & 1/2 can of fancy crab meat; I plan to do this next time. Some of my wontons oozed slightly while baking. Remember to try and seal the wonton as firmly as possible. This is a great simple recipe that is easily manipulated to your specifications. Just remember that filling & folding wontons is time consuming, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badlildube

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
All the insides came out during frying despite sealing the edges very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Best crab rangoon we've ever had, with the following changes: left the water chestnuts out, and only used about 4 or 5 ounces of crabmeat. It was the perfect amount of crabmeat to balance out the cream cheese and not give an overwhelming crab texture or flavor. I fried these in oil that I'd used to fry chicken for the Perfect Sesame Chicken on this site. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is my favorite appetizer of all time! Like some others noted in their reviews, I baked mine in a mini muffin tin sprayed with cooking spray, then I brushed the tops with egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I may have done a bad thing by learning how to make this! Like most, I altered a few things and it turned our AMAZING. I left-out the paprika and water chestnuts and replaced it with green onions, a little siracha hot sauce, and more cream cheese because I LOVE creamy Crab Rangoon. I also used the imitation crab, which I was skeptical about but after using both canned and intimation crab, I found I liked the intimation crab's texture the best. I also baked them instead of frying. I lightly brushed both sides with vegetable oil and baked them at 375* for about 18 minutes flipping them once after the bottom side became golden brown. Then while it was baking, I made this sweet and sour dipping sauce. This recipe is SO SO SO good my mouth is watering just thinking about it :) http://allrecipes.com/recipe/hot-and-sweet-dipping-sauce/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
These are great, we make them all the time. I use onion & chive cream cheese and we serve them with sweet Thai chili sauce. The spicy sweet combo with the crab and cheese combo is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I love this recipe! It was very easy to make. I only used one can of crab meat and added about a tablespoon of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States